Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography
Help painting fine detail lettering and logos! >

Help painting fine detail lettering and logos!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help painting fine detail lettering and logos!

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2009, 08:07 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Help painting fine detail lettering and logos!

I am new to airbrushing and have been painting my buddies slash bodies. I have a craft robo and make my own masks. When I do lettering or fine detail logos it seems the the masks will pull up the fine lines of paint i just laid down. I scuff and wash all my bodies and I am using Auto-Air and Createx paint. Is there something I am doing wrong or is there a better paint for this application.
Old 03-20-2009, 08:24 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 96 (99%+)

The biggest reason that this happens is that your laying the paint down in coats that are too heavy. The paint forms a ridge that laps over the mask and then pulls up as you pull the mask. Try to go with lighter paint coats and be sure to pull the mask back onto itself as you unmask.
Old 03-21-2009, 09:08 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)

and....dry the paint fully and let it cool again if you used a dryer.
Old 03-21-2009, 11:11 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Thanks for the info guys. I will try lighter coats and let it dry longer.
Old 03-21-2009, 02:16 PM
Tech Addict