Wiki Posts
Search

1/10th Scale Metal Tumbler Batmobile Build

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 06:51 AM
Tech Rookie

Default 1/10th Scale Metal Tumbler Batmobile Build

Hello all,

I thought I'd share my current project of a 1/10th Scale Tumbler Batmobile from the 2005 Batman film now that I'm quite well underway with it and will try to explain how I've gone about it as best as I can and answer questions for anyone that is looking for ideas on their own projects or want to know a bit more about mine. I work as a fabrication welder so I do have access to quite a selection of tools etc so it has been a bit easier than some people would realistically be able to manage such as quite a lot of parts have been machined on a lathe and also the bodywork has been designed using solidworks however the basic skills such as measuring and thinking how or will parts work are still there. I've always tinkered with engines and cars since the age of 4 so being almost 20 I feel competent noughto just do it.

In short I bought a cheap secondhand 1/8th scale 2wd nitro a few years back which I loved but it was made all of plastic so the gears wore out and the suspension arms suffered from fatigue and had cracked so I needed to make new parts which meant it was cast aside whilst I learnt on full size cars but I now have the time to go back to the smaller cars.

What I wanted to achieve was a durable car I have designed and built most of the parts to as well as learn more about car set-ups and designing then improving parts etc so after watching Batman on dvd and watching the Tumbler drive around and over other cars I thought it would be cool to build one for myself that would function similarly.