Community
Wiki Posts
Search

slash late model set-up help

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 07:50 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default slash late model set-up help

I'm new to dirt oval racing and need some help with suspension set-up I have a slash with proline protrac suspension,proline shocks and a castle sct esc and motor I know nothing about oval set-up what shock springs to use where what shock oil how much fuel tubing to put in each shock to limit travel and any thing that I may forgot to ask I just ordered an atomic sclm body from cm bodies thanks max
Old 05-09-2012, 09:13 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Originally Posted by max56
I'm new to dirt oval racing and need some help with suspension set-up I have a slash with proline protrac suspension,proline shocks and a castle sct esc and motor I know nothing about oval set-up what shock springs to use where what shock oil how much fuel tubing to put in each shock to limit travel and any thing that I may forgot to ask I just ordered an atomic sclm body from cm bodies thanks max
Everything you will need to know is right here:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/oval-lar...nversions.html
Check out the last page for the best tuning guide you will find posted by GP40X.
Old 05-09-2012, 09:32 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

Originally Posted by max56
Usually the smoother the track, the thicker the shock oil. Springs depend on several factors but you want to have some suspension travel left when you set it up. You may want to pick up some stiffer than normal springs that fit your shocks. Start out by getting the Proline spring sets for your shocks. You may be able to stiffen it up more by replacing the upper springs with spacers. I use about 1/2 inch total internal limiters and Customworks Long buggy springs with spacers on the rear shocks since they are 1 & 3/4 inch springs (SC10 FT). Here is something that might help.

The Dirt Oval Handling Guide