Orion Wasp newbie

Old 11-07-2005, 10:48 AM
Tech Fanatic

Default Orion Wasp newbie

I am new to nitro and have a Wasp .12 off road i am struggling with. I ran about 4 tanks thorough at what i thought was fairly rich settings. Yesterday i could not get it to keep running. Temperature was much warmer so i leaned it to 2.5 turns out on the high speed neddle. It would start but as soon as i reved it once it would die. I am thinking it is to rcich but i dont want to ruin a new engine by leaning it out any more. If there is already a good thread on carb tuning please point me in the right direction because right now i am very frustrated. I guess i should have bought an OS! Thanks in advance for the help.
Old 11-07-2005, 11:27 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Too lean.

Go back to your original settings and lean it out slowly , also do you have a temp gauge? If not get one and keep the temps below 220. That will ensure it doesnt blow from overleaning , which the motor will get real hot....above 220F. But just to note some dont go by readings and some say 270 is ok, just whatever makes good power. Ive always played it safe though and kept my motors at 220-230 if racing. But thats about all I go, anymore than that and I get antsy.
Old 11-07-2005, 12:09 PM
Tech Fanatic

Cool, i will have to get a temp gun. Any suggestions on which one to get or all they all about the same.
Old 11-15-2005, 11:30 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by tcmerf