ninja MR 21-R01 question

Old 02-19-2011, 03:34 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default ninja MR 21-R01 question

does anyone know why does this engine have so many head shims...theres two .02mm and two .01mm head shims?
Old 02-19-2011, 03:46 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by 5crossyourlip
does anyone know why does this engine have so many head shims...theres two .02mm and two .01mm head shims?
same with mine,i keep those shims when im using 25% fuel..
Old 02-19-2011, 03:53 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

well i run 20% ...could i take one out...like a .02mm shim
Old 02-19-2011, 04:01 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

well i run 20% ...could i take one out...like a .02mm shim
I'm no ninja expert but you probably could pull a .1. I wouldn't pull a .2
Old 02-20-2011, 05:56 PM
Tech Addict

That would equal 0.6mm, but Novarossi/RB .21s have 0.8mm shims - instead of changing the clearance naturally between the sleeve and head button to use less shims, it's probably better to use more shims instead of changing the machine that makes them.

In my POV, I know what I'm saying and thinking, but I have no idea if somebody reading this could make any sense out of this!!
Old 02-22-2011, 05:58 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by DJ_Shakespear
That would equal 0.6mm, but Novarossi/RB .21s have 0.8mm shims - instead of changing the clearance naturally between the sleeve and head button to use less shims, it's probably better to use more shims instead of changing the machine that makes them.

In my POV, I know what I'm saying and thinking, but I have no idea if somebody reading this could make any sense out of this!!
Ok, now explain that in english
Old 02-22-2011, 10:36 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by West03
Ok, now explain that in english
I wish I could - it makes sense in my head!! But I'll try anyway: