R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2004, 02:23 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default RB or NR???

looking for a new engine in my NTC3 wifey says get whatever i want to

was planning in the RB V15 but now i see nova has a 15 out too but i cant find any specs on it

anybody have an opinion or know anything about the nova???

thanx scott
scottericsonon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 03:33 PM   #2
Tech Master
rod_b's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b

first off, you might wanna consider getting a .12 engine in case someday you race a sanctioned race. That said, I would go with a novarossi. The RBs are nice but I think the NS12 is a better engine than the V12. Don't know if it's the same for the .15s or not
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 12:20 AM   #3
Tech Elite
freefallmarine's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 2,161
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Novarossi NS 12 S3. You wont regret it. C.
freefallmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 12:13 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NoVA
Posts: 856
Send a message via ICQ to mtx3racer Send a message via AIM to mtx3racer

if your not planning to run at a sanctioned race, then go with the ns12s5!!! That engine is the....
mtx3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2004, 12:17 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
MugenMTX3Kid's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: BRABUS E w/ Monoblock III Nor Cal
Posts: 880
Send a message via AIM to MugenMTX3Kid

Arent RB Novarossi based engine too? Anyways, wont go wrong with either.
MugenMTX3Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 03:21 AM   #6
Tech Regular
RayJ's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 445
Default NS12 vs RB v12

These motors are very similar the one big thing that I noticed with the NS is that it has more work done to the crankshaft than the V12. The NS seems to have a lighter crank with a scoop cutout for moving the fuel /air mix up to the ports. I don't know if the full sized V12 crank was left alone for more torque.
RayJ is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 AM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0