R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Like Tree33Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2004, 08:30 AM   #496
Tech Master
 
ziggy12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,596
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BrainTeased
thanks Ziggy i need one of those digital verniers! no way i can get that 0.018 figure on a scale vernier.

but apart from that do you think im putting too many shims in? after reading that headshim thread im pretty sure that the VERY VERY thin shim is the 0.08 shim and the other 2 silver novarossi shims are 0.010 so maybe i have 0.028 mm shimmed installed? so basically does it sound normal to have 0.028mm shimmed on 2-3 litred old novarossi engine? maybe it was just my bad tuning skills that made it flame out the first week. (trying to tune the bottom end lean first)
If you have read the thred it tells you that Novarossi engines are made to have 0.008" head clearance withoutshims so if you have 0.028" more it is way over shimmed. I have just one 0.010"shim in mine.

The very thin shim must be the 0.005"shim as they make that one

Cheers
__________________
Dedicated RC Car Speed Site

http://www.fast-rc.co.uk/forum/index.php

Sponsored by:
Norfolk and Chance
ziggy12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 08:27 PM   #497
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

BT,

Here's the nominal measurements of the standard Nova shims.

Silver: 0.3mm - or about 0.012 inch.
Copper: 0.1mm - or about 0.004 inch.

1mm is equal to about 0.040 inch - it's actually 0.039 . . . something, but close enough for this purpose.
Yes, you'll need a digital caliper.

Last edited by Taylor-Racing; 09-09-2004 at 03:34 AM.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 12:38 AM   #498
Tech Master
 
ziggy12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,596
Default

Where can i get a barrel carb for an NSR S3? I need 2!

Cheers
__________________
Dedicated RC Car Speed Site

http://www.fast-rc.co.uk/forum/index.php

Sponsored by:
Norfolk and Chance
ziggy12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 04:36 AM   #499
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys! ill take one of the shims out this weekend and give it a go then keep taking them out and see what happens i goto learn!!!
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 04:45 AM   #500
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Taylor-Racing
BT,

Here's the nominal measurements of the standard Nova shims.

Silver: 0.3mm - or about 0.012 inch.
Copper: 0.1mm - or about 0.004 inch.

1mm is equal to about 0.040 inch - it's actually 0.039 . . . something, but close enough for this purpose.
Yes, you'll need a digital caliper.
Hey Gav
thanks for clearing up one thing with the mm's and the inches

how do novarossi engines come out in terms of shims installed when the engine is new?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 04:57 AM   #501
Tech Elite
 
Taylor-Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne OZ
Posts: 2,066
Default

No problem.
I think our NSR came with one silver shim, but if I recall, the older Nova's came with a silver and a copper fitted as stock. I could be wrong here.
Taylor-Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2004, 05:45 AM   #502
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

that sounds about right! thanks Gav
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 12:54 AM   #503
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Default

I t is said that the piston of Novarossi new version .12 engine is made of ceramic alloy. I s it true?

And which piston is better?
ceramic?
CNC aluminium ?
microcast aluminium?
adsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 08:31 PM   #504
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 221
Default

I had purchased a IDM 12 3 port a couple of months ago and had major problems with it since day one. No matter what carb setting it would alternately overheat or stall or run poorly and would destroy plugs at an increadible rate. Well yesterday i checked the rod and it was quiet worn so I figured it was detonating from conrod bushing play. Pulled everything apart and to my shock found that NO shims had been installed from the factory! I was effectively .4mm less head clearance than factory . The engine is toast now... p/s is fried/ head button is pitted to hell....crank and bearings are ok though. What should I do? I was going to go to the store that i bought it at and also mail Muegenseiki japan. Do you think I have a claim or not?

sorry for the novel.
rcosmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 06:00 AM   #505
Tech Elite
 
suntok2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Manila Philippines
Posts: 2,412
Send a message via ICQ to suntok2 Send a message via AIM to suntok2 Send a message via Yahoo to suntok2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rcosmax
I had purchased a IDM 12 3 port a couple of months ago and had major problems with it since day one. No matter what carb setting it would alternately overheat or stall or run poorly and would destroy plugs at an increadible rate. Well yesterday i checked the rod and it was quiet worn so I figured it was detonating from conrod bushing play. Pulled everything apart and to my shock found that NO shims had been installed from the factory! I was effectively .4mm less head clearance than factory . The engine is toast now... p/s is fried/ head button is pitted to hell....crank and bearings are ok though. What should I do? I was going to go to the store that i bought it at and also mail Muegenseiki japan. Do you think I have a claim or not?

sorry for the novel.
As far us I know der is no warranty on the engine.
suntok2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 09:47 AM   #506
Tech Elite
 
warpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cornfield, Nebraska
Posts: 2,862
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I wish I knew what to do about having an engine that had a rod installed backwards from the factory... pretty sweet.. my mt12 wore heavy on one side of the sleeve.. 2.5 gallons and won't idle.. grr
warpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 02:29 PM   #507
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: london, uk
Posts: 225
Default carb question

Hiya,

Could anyone tell me if it possible to replace a carbs from a NSR 12 3 ports with a carb from a 15 size engine from the same make ? Will any mod be needed ?

Thanks
xtreme888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 04:44 PM   #508
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, CANADA
Posts: 68
Default RS12 T5S1

Hey Guys,

Can anyone tell me what the carb settings are for the RS12 T5S1

and can anyone suggest some glow plugs (turbo Plugs)

thanks
jferg10472 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 03:16 AM   #509
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: RS12 T5S1

Quote:
Originally posted by jferg10472
Hey Guys,

Can anyone tell me what the carb settings are for the RS12 T5S1

and can anyone suggest some glow plugs (turbo Plugs)

thanks
Hi someone suggested to me for my RS 12 S5
5 turns out High speed screw
3 turns out low speed screw
good to get it started.

or you can try
2.5 turns out low speed screw
and high speed screw sitting flush with the highspeed screw body.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 03:18 AM   #510
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Also guys could i ask if its possible to use a OS .12 carb on my RS12S5 ? would it make any benifits in terms of easier tuning etc...
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirio engines thread EVOLUTION Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 2824 04-29-2014 10:58 AM
Axial Engines thread Axial Racing Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 164 10-06-2008 05:48 PM
RB engines thread CraigM Nitro Off-Road 7 01-05-2008 10:57 AM
JP Engines Thread DOMOisCOOL Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 2 02-16-2004 05:00 AM
OS engines thread EVOLUTION Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 44 02-11-2004 06:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net