Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum
How to choose the right engine? >

How to choose the right engine?

How to choose the right engine?

Old 01-10-2017, 12:38 AM
Tech Rookie

Default How to choose the right engine?

Hey guys...

Newbie here. I just picked up a Serpent SRX8 after a 15 year hiatus from the hobby. The last nitro engine I ran was an OS .12CV in my NRS4 mid 90's

So I've been reading threads trying to catch up on whats going on, and Im trying to figure out what engine would be best in the new buggy I picked up. Im a bit overwhelmed with the options, there seems to be tons! They also all seem to produce similar power. So what should be the deciding factors in choosing an engine? Any help or advice would be highly appreciated!
Old 01-11-2017, 02:49 PM
Tech Apprentice

The main factor would probably be your budget! There are so many options available at a huge range of price points but I think the old saying 'you get what you pay for' is usually true.

I would say maybe take a look at your local track to see which motors are going well and have a chat to the guys running them, because they will probably be helping you tune whatever you buy.

I've ran a lot of engines over the years but had good success with Alpha/Argus engines for a lower priced engine.
At the moment I'm running an FX K3 in my buggy which is really nice, although at the opposite end of the price scale!

If I was to try another engine in my buggy it would be the Drake edition Novarossi, I think it would be a solid motor for the money and if the Drake has put his name to it it must be good

Sorry I don't know how helpful this is but hopefully you can take something from it!
Let us know what you get
Old 01-11-2017, 05:24 PM
Tech Apprentice

I am running OS B2101 and I am super happy with it, lots of power and its easy to tune. My next engine will be the new OS B2102 low cg.
Old 01-11-2017, 08:36 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)