Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Ho do I keep my engine cool?

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2012, 01:55 PM
Tech Initiate

Questions?? Ho do I keep my engine cool?

Hi,
I am a newbie to R/C nitro and I have just received my RTR truggy 2 days ago. I am running a Hpi Trophy Truggy 4.6 (0.28) (which has the same engine as the savage x 4.6) I have just completed earlier today and did some bashing right after and kept the same rich settings. While I was bashing, I decided to put the body shell on for the first time and I continued to monitor my temps. They were 15-20 degrees higher because of lack of air flow, but I was still confused because my needles where very very rich and my temp with the body shell on was 235 which is meant to be the temp when the car is leaned out and tuned. The manual says that above 250 is the 'danger zone'...Am I meant to drive faster or possiblly tune the car which I will do tomorrow but I'm worried because of those temps. Oh and I am using Jets R/C fuel 20%. If you take your time to read all of this, I would like to say thankyou
Old 12-26-2012, 06:27 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

there is no "magic temp" with these little motors....i've seen them scream all day at temps ranging from 170 all the way to 290+....the "rule of thumb" is to keep temps at around 230...i for one don't temp motors anymore, even for a base line....i tune by smoke and sound.......if your motor is still running rich, lean it out 1 hour at a time to where it's just barely rich until most of the mechanical pinch is gone from the piston/sleeve...then take it the rest of the way to a full tune...
Old 12-26-2012, 07:31 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Originally Posted by hustler777