Wiki Posts
Search

Odonnell 97T Plugs

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 07:07 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Odonnell 97T Plugs

Ive been running these plugs for over 2 yrs and never had a problem. The last card of 6 I bought Ive used 2 of them and they just crap out for no apparent reason. They will run for a tank or 2 and start to flame every time I punch it, then they will just work with ignitor on and the minute you take it off it will die. Any body else been having this problem with the Odonnells. I read awhile back there was a bad batch or somthing. Ive even put a older one in from a different batch and not a problem at all.
Old 08-17-2011, 07:11 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

There were some complaints here about the same thing recently. So, you're not alone.
Old 08-17-2011, 07:14 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Originally Posted by hdcruzer
Ive been running these plugs for over 2 yrs and never had a problem. The last card of 6 I bought Ive used 2 of them and they just crap out for no apparent reason. They will run for a tank or 2 and start to flame every time I punch it, then they will just work with ignitor on and the minute you take it off it will die. Any body else been having this problem with the Odonnells. I read awhile back there was a bad batch or somthing. Ive even put a older one in from a different batch and not a problem at all.
I thought I read somewhere they had a batch that were off in a measurement.
Old 08-17-2011, 07:29 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)

I just had to replace a p/s in a friends Alpha green head engine
because of an OD97 glowplug. He hadn't finished the first tank
of fuel on the new plug, when the plugs coil dropped out and
tore the piston and cylinder up. I replaced the Alpha 5 port
sleeve with a GO 7 port sleeve. So, we now call it a "Gopha 7"
engine. I just finished breaking it in today. It turned out to be
a sweet little engine.
Old 08-17-2011, 07:33 PM
Tech Master