Wiki Posts
Search

Nitro Engine too Hot?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2011, 10:04 AM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default Nitro Engine too Hot?

Curious.Im pretty new to nitro.When running my eight buggy, before the tank runs out of fuel the acceleration gets more and more sluggish until finally it wont accelerate at all.Just idle.Then it will die.Ive checked the engine temps and they are 290 degrees.Could I be running too lean and is that causing the problems?
Old 04-25-2011, 10:15 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by shuless
Curious.Im pretty new to nitro.When running my eight buggy, before the tank runs out of fuel the acceleration gets more and more sluggish until finally it wont accelerate at all.Just idle.Then it will die.Ive checked the engine temps and they are 290 degrees.Could I be running too lean and is that causing the problems?
290 is pretty hot ! i won't typically run anything over 240...surprised it still idles at 290. i would definitely richin it up. read the following link. there is a ton of info that will help . i would probably tear the motor down and inspect piston,rod , sleeve and bearings.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/offroad-...ing-bible.html
Old 04-25-2011, 10:49 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Yup it's way too lean. Aside from the high temp, the loss in power as the tank empties is a dead giveaway.
Old 04-25-2011, 11:00 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

what engine is it? ... ive ran my alphas over 290 and they were fine, i dont worry about temp... but your engine does sound a little lean though....
Old 04-25-2011, 12:32 PM
Tech Elite

Im no super tuner but 290 is HOT. If your no pro and need every drop of power, you shouldnt run at 290 - richen up to prolong your engine life. If you go $$$ to blow then whatever.
Old 04-25-2011, 01:24 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

Originally Posted by neobart