Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Nitro Fuel byrons 20%

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 12:16 PM
Tech Regular

Default Nitro Fuel byrons 20%

I have a losi 350 with re-11 pipe and I am using byrons 20% nitro. I am thinking about trying 30% byrons or sidewinder would i see a nice performance increase assuming a good tune on 30%... All i have ever used is byrons 20% and I am a noob... would it hurt my engine? ... I have a medium plug right now would i need to go to a cold?..
Old 04-20-2011, 12:37 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

going to 30% will net a little bit of a gain... but if you dont change anything (like go up a tooth or two in pinion, or drop a tooth or two in spur), i doubt you'll see much difference.

Medium plug is fine on 30%. I run medium & cold plugs in my engines on Byrons Gen2 30%.
Old 04-20-2011, 01:34 PM
Tech Prophet

i would stick with the 20% byrons intill you get good with the tuning i know i am intil i get good at it.

im using up the rest of my ebmods race blead 20% intill i run out of it than go to 25% and 30%.

try ethier a hot plug or a meduim hot plug with 20% i noticed that my engine ran better and easier to tune and start
Old 04-20-2011, 02:15 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

there is a BIG difference between 20% and 30%. more bottom with 30% is the biggest difference, with a little more top. oil percentage makes a big difference also, i switched back and forth between byrons 30-11 and 30-9, some engines ran better with 30-9 and some ran better with 30-11 (i run only O'donnell Fuel now though). stick to the same plug, do not go hotter, hotter the plug the bigger the tuning window which will take some power away. i wouldnt go to a cold plug either.

just my 2 cents.
Old 04-20-2011, 02:27 PM
Tech Prophet

Originally Posted by jmaxey51