Wiki Posts
Search

Reliable Basher Engine

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2011, 09:12 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Reliable Basher Engine

Hello Everyone,
I'm looking for an engine for a RC8 I picked for cheap up a while ago. I'm planning on running the buggy as a basher. As I'm new to the nitro scene I was wondering if anybody can give some advice on a good basher engine? Preferably one that doesn't break the bank. Thanks!
Ryan
Old 04-05-2011, 09:24 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Originally Posted by dinkyrdj
Hello Everyone,
I'm looking for an engine for a RC8 I picked for cheap up a while ago. I'm planning on running the buggy as a basher. As I'm new to the nitro scene I was wondering if anybody can give some advice on a good basher engine? Preferably one that doesn't break the bank. Thanks!
Ryan
Dynamite 21, it's got a red head on it. Amain has them. Good little motor.
Old 04-05-2011, 09:27 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Or the fusion X 21 3 port, Houston has some I think you can check with him. Great motor as well and priced pretty good.
Old 04-05-2011, 09:45 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)

Dynamite .21 or a Werks b5
Old 04-05-2011, 09:50 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

I would recommend the Hyper .21 8 port. Comes with bump box back plate or as a pull start. I used them exclusively when I first got into 8 scale nitro. Easy to tune, gobs of power, super cheap and they always lasted 6-8 gallons. Run time stinks but for bashing that don't matter. NitroHouse.com sells them for about $120. Works best with an 086 pipe
Old 04-05-2011, 10:06 AM
Tech Rookie

Thanks everyone for the recommendations!

What about .28 engines? I notice a lot of RTR come with this size engine as opposed to .21.