R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road > Offroad Nitro Engine Forum

Old 10-27-2008, 07:35 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Is running rich bad for your engine?

I have had great success on running my engines so there is plenty of blue smoke and plenty of power. I have always told myself as long as it has enough power, no need to make it leaner.

Sometimes it will come off at 190-200. But by the engine running cooler, it seems the internal parts won't expand as much therefore more engine wear and stress compared to someone running at 230-240.

Engine tuners getting 10+ gallons on their engines or anyone who has experience with this, please go in detail on the above.

Thanks!
Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:50 AM   #2
Tech Adept

I dont see where it would hurt, but i am by no means a professional engine tuner. I have thought about it too and the only thing i can come up with is the con rod big end could possibly wear faster. It has to work harder to push the piston up because of the extra fuel in the combustion chamber. But there is also more lubrication reaching the con rod from rich settings. Heat is the #1 cause of death in all types of engines, so the cooler you can keep it while still making the power you need the better off you are IMO.
Old 10-27-2008, 07:50 AM   #3
Tech Regular

My Go-Tech 3 port sport has 10+ and I run it between 250 - 300 degrees. Still has as much compression as it did at 3 gallons. I use it today for practice and as a back-up.

I've heard that running rich can be bad due to build up and what not.
Furadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:51 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)