Wiki Posts
Search

Getting Started in Racing

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011, 03:32 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Getting Started in Racing

I'm fairly new to the RC scene, but am looking into getting started with racing. While I love just bashing around in the parking lot or street with friends, I'm far too competitive to have that be enough. My questions are these, I know that there are places to race in the Portland/Salem metro area for both on-road (Rose City)/off-road (PDX RC Raceway/Dave's RC) and electric or nitro classes. My question relating to this is what should I start with and which car do you recommend? I like the idea of nitro because of the sound, but I only have experience with electric. Is one better for starting with? I'm open to any and all suggestions and do not have any reservations towards any specific class or power type. Just would like to know what most people race in the area so I don't buy something that there is no class for. Thanks in advance for the help and suggestions.
Old 09-23-2011, 08:41 AM
Tech Regular

I think you should try and show up out at the timezone GT enduro race. It would give you an idea of what a GREAT on-road facility we have access to here, and what a good entry level nitro car is like.

I started RC racing a little over a year ago with an electric World GT car. It is a good place to start IMHO. But really only racing in the winter.

A stock electric sedan is the best all around car. There is a good car count, summer and winter.

Either way (on or off road), be sure of what you want out of your racing,
and give it a shot.

I'm having a blast on-road.

Jeff
Old 09-23-2011, 09:03 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

First two questions back at you, how often do you want to race and how far do you want to drive to do so?

For electric you have...