Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie questions...

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2002, 07:19 PM
Tech Rookie

Newbie questions...

OK, I am new to r/c nitro cars but I’ve read and know enough to buy one. For my first car, I want to start off with some expensive, powerful, fast non-rtr kit. I think I can handle the responsibilities of building and taking care of it. I have a few questions before I do this though:

· I am going to get a fuel filter. How do I clean it? Do it rinse it in fuel and add the oil to it, or no oil?

· How do I use after run oil? Were do I apply it?

· The kit does not have a pullstart, How do i start it?

· Do you think the Proceed is a good car?: Reasons?
Old 10-27-2002, 07:47 PM
Tech Master

okay, I'm sorry, but I have to say, DO NOT get the proceed as your first car. No matter how much you thik you know, getting into 1/8 onroad cars as your first venture into rc is not the smartest.
As kits go, I say get the Yokomo GTR4 RTR, but since you don't want to get an RTR, I say get a good Nitro touring car.

Okay on to the rest:

First of all, for fuel filters, make sure you install it only in one direction every time you use it. This way, when you take your fuel filter apart to clean it, you spray nitro cleaner or denatured alcohol into the filter in the opposite direction that fuel flows through it. Then put it back in the car facing the same direction. This way no debris gets into the engine. And don't use oil.

After run oil is put into the engine crankcase through the glow plug hole, and carb then you turn the engine over several times. and put the gow plug back in place.