R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 09-29-2005, 10:22 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default roto start or pull start

ok i have a rs4 3 evo with T15 engine it comes with the roto start and i was wondering if i should replace it with a pull start, im just havin problems with roto start the shaft is wearing down at the tip from holdin it from an angle, it broke a gear already,its not cheap and i just bought this a week ago im still new to all this, i need to know if im doing some thing wrong? or if the pull start would work better for me.
hybrid_eg6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:18 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
Send a message via ICQ to Aphinity Send a message via AIM to Aphinity Send a message via Yahoo to Aphinity Send a message via Skype™ to Aphinity

A starter box would be a much better investment for you, in my opinion. No wear, totally reliable, easier to start, and more power too.

Pull starts and the roto start devices are constantly dragging on the crankshaft of the motor, and this reduces power a LOT. Take it off, and you'll notice the difference in power.
Aphinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:40 PM   #3

Use what you have for now, when time comes to get a new engine, get the one which uses starter box. So starter box is the way to go.
xrcbuggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 11:40 PM   #4
Tech Rookie

is it easy to take off the roto start off the engine, i mean, what do i need to do to? do i just take off the roto start and put a plate? what do i do when i get a strater box,engine wise? how much is one?
Old 09-30-2005, 06:24 AM   #5
Tech Master
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)