Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Nitro Rs4 Rtr3

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2005, 09:50 AM
Tech Initiate

Arrow Nitro Rs4 Rtr3

hi i have a nitro rs4 rtr3 and im pretty new to the rc hobby ......i finaly am ready to make my car faster i have a 2 speed put into it and thats it .....i want to put a cvec pipe on it heres the link......

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBYG0&P=7

i was wondering if that would be a good pipe for my car ......please e-mail me with your awnser at [email protected] and please e-mal me with any other hop-up parts for my car that would make it faster ......thanks Ryan
Old 09-17-2005, 06:37 PM
Tech Adept

The cvecs are great pipes. Most people don't take the time or dislike the fact that they have to adjust the baffle to their particular engine. I like them, it can really bring the best out of your engine. If you serious about making it faster then you need to ditch the stock engine. I think your money would be better spent. Then you could always get the cvec later.

But, that's just my 2.5 cents worth of opinion.
Old 09-17-2005, 10:52 PM
Tech Regular

yeah I agree, all the rtr3's have a decent tuned pipe anyway, but if its a non evo it has a one-piece cast manifold (big ugly fined thing bolted to the engine) which is rubbish, sort of defies the whole idea of using the cvec pipe really. I doubt you will get any extra power out of the motor, would look rather tasty though
A .18 os with side exhaust and rotary carb would do nicely if your lookin for extra speed, more like extra extra speed!!
Also a Nitro Star 18SS would also make your car go like stink.
Old 09-18-2005, 02:35 AM
Tech Adept

Yeah Hesky, I agree. The O.S. .18 cv-r is going for right around a 100.00 dollars. Much more bang for your buck. A good all around engine, that stays tuned and lasts a long time if maintained properly. I am putting that engine into HPI's MT Racer, along with the cvec. I'll have all I can do to keep it on the ground.