Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Hardwire a RC 2.4ghz transmitter >

Hardwire a RC 2.4ghz transmitter

Hardwire a RC 2.4ghz transmitter

Old 10-22-2014, 02:44 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Hardwire a RC 2.4ghz transmitter

Hi, I'm new to this very interesting and helpful forum so HELLO!

I'm currently building a scale model of a hybrid electric vehicle that will utilise a nitro engine and electric motor to demonstrate how a Toyota Prius (dont laugh) hybrid system works. Purely for demonstration purposes!!! I'm doing this for a University as a side project.

The car will never be used on track or road and will only be sat on a rolling road for students to learn about hybrid systems. I understand that it would be completely useless as an RC car due to weight issues etc.

Anyway..... onto my question. I want the students to be able to "dial-in" a certain amount of throttle instead of using a trigger, as is on the stock transmitter, to see how the vehicle reacts.

Is it possible to hardwire a controller or is there such thing as a transmitter with a rotary potentiometer instead of a stick or trigger? Has anybody ever done this?

By the way I'm very new to the world of RC vehicles but I like what I see so far!!! I bought a used Schumacher fusion 28 Turbo, its very noisy and fast :-)
So excuse any noobie questions I might post!

Thanks for looking!
Old 10-22-2014, 11:03 PM
Tech Lord

servo tester ?
Old 10-23-2014, 02:45 AM
Tech Rookie

excuse my naivety but what is a servo tester?
Old 10-23-2014, 05:44 AM
Tech Lord

Google is your friend?

A Servo teste is a small device to test servo's and ESC's without the use of a transmitter. It is just a small box with a potmeter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haUCJdHcrOc
Old 10-23-2014, 06:49 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)