R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road-3/)
-   -   Help with strange behavior on Picco P-0 .08 engine. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road/800347-help-strange-behavior-picco-p-0-08-engine.html)

fyrstormer 03-16-2014 02:36 AM

Help with strange behavior on Picco P-0 .08 engine.

Hi all. I'm not a *complete* noob in regards to nitro, but I haven't completely worn-out an engine yet, so I'm still learning all the various kinds of misbehavior I can expect to deal with as a nitro engine ages.

So, I have a little buggy that runs on a Picco P-0 .08 cubic-inch engine. I've only run about two quarts of fuel through it so far, but because it's such a tiny engine in such a small car, it tops-out pretty quickly, and it's fairly common for me to end up running it at redline for maybe 15-20 seconds at a time. (I have no idea if that's unusually severe usage, but I thought it might be useful info.) I'm running it on 30% nitro (the manual recommends no less than 25%), with an O'Donnell hot glowplug (which isn't showing any obvious signs of overheating), and a stock 0.1mm cylinder-head shim.

The problem I'm having is, once the engine is hot, the idle drops a little after each high-speed run, so that after 4-5 runs the idle is so low the engine stalls. If I let the engine cool down for a couple minutes before starting it again, it has no problem idling until after I do a couple more high-speed runs.