R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2012, 12:33 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 401
Default sticky servo prob

I`ve experienced a problem with a servo wich sticks sometimes. It is the throttle servo and it will stick a moment when i want to release the gas or brake. i`v read about the problems in electric with the BEC and all but i run nitro with LIFE 6,6 volts wich should be enough. I run 2 savox 1250mg though both throttle and steering.

It is annoying because it will not be present constant but only does this 2 to 3 times a day racing. It cost me places on the race because it will send the car in the gras or worst damage will occur. Trashed the reciever because off it in the final. Replaced the throttle servo and the receiver but it is still present.

Does anyone have a solution for it?? Its a Spektrum transmitter on 2,4ghz with savox low profile servo`s. I would appreciate some help. or should i run a capacitor??

Last edited by djiewie; 07-02-2012 at 01:17 AM.
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 814
Default

Just brain storming. Ck and redo you EPA on TX. Throttle opening too much it binding. Also with braking??? Again just brain storming!!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:10 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 3,977
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Swap the servo's and see if the problem excists.

You are sure it is not the carburator sticking?
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:34 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 665
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Could it be a range issue? Does it occur at a point that is far away or close to the driver stand?
WatchOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 401
Default

Apriciate the help guy`s but its a new servo on throttle and i`ve swaped engines 3 times(picco torque/ RB M3 / CRF orion) and the problem persists. I have this from the beginning of the season with new servo`s. Ive checked the servo travel and the carb several times when i replaced the engines. Adjusted the carb so its aligned. Have a strong spring on it now.

It is difficult to notice because it accurs at random, but now i know its not me doing it. Costly pointwise for the nationals so i need a solution for the last 2 races. And it was costly last nationals since the fueltank/receiver and the servo died with the crash.

I`ve ordered the capasitor from spektrum, because it solves the glitches they say, but it seams strange that the 2 savox servo`s cause this problem. It is like it doesn`t respond for a second. Glitching
There is a lot written here about it, but its all regarding electric and BEC for speedo`s. After my last crash on the last nationals i have a new receiver so that is not the solution. I spend o whole day trying to adres the problem and seen the car/throttle servo hesitate on the starterbox already once. Hopefully someone has had it and has a solution other than replacing all the electronics.
Some other things i tried;
move the antenne outward away from the powerleads,
shorten the servo wires
put normal battery`s in the transmitter DX3S to up the voltage

Last edited by djiewie; 07-02-2012 at 10:06 AM.
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:46 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11,133
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you are sure it is not a linkage problem, first beg, buy, borrow or steal another servo and see if that fixes it. After linkages, servo is the most likely cause. You wouldn't think it but throttle is very hard on servos. If that doesn't fix it, I would say the following quote is your problem:

Quote:
Originally Posted by djiewie View Post
transmitter DX3S
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:55 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Savox + Spektrum = brownouts. If you're lucky the capacitor will take care of it. I've never had luck with it, though.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 01:15 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
DS Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,375
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As mentioned above, it's known problem to have glitching occur when you use Savox servos with a Spectrum receiver. The Savox servos use low quality motors which draw a lot of power.
I would ditch the Savox stuff and get some quality servos from KoPropo, Sanwa or Futaba.
If you want you can try one of mine servos to see if the problem will go away.
__________________
P1-RC.com
DS Motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:56 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,764
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

I tend to run a spring on the brake linkage also.

Not only does it help dis-engage the brakes, it also helps bring and hold the throttle in neutral position alittle easier. Especially evident when running a low torque throttle servos.

Example...

Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:11 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 401
Default

Thank you for the idea`s. It looks to be costly though. Lose the Savox and the transmitter both. I have a analog servo lying around wich i am going to try. It has 6 kg torque on 6 volt. I suppose one savox isn`t going to give a glitch i hope otherwise ist 2 futaba s9551 if i can get them. about 200,- Anyone interested in 2 brand new savox servo`s if they are the problem i will burn them in a fire.

Will be a gamble on the next national though. I`ve seen they removed the trees on gouda so thats a start. keeping my fingers crossed the analog servo is the fix. Its a releave though i finally know whats the mysterious glitches i have been experiencing the last years.
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:56 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
scary_jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 395
Smile

The most recent account I've heard of someone swearing off a JR/spectrum setup was yesterday. That is about 6 occurrances I know of. I use Futaba with the great Savox servos and have been amazed that the common denominator seems to be something involving theJR/spektrum. Isolate your problem by trying a different radio brand, I doubt it's the Savox servo.
scary_jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:37 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 401
Default

what you are saying is that someone had this problem with the spektrum set with other servo brand?? So by changing the transmitter and receiver it will be good?? i`ve been eyeballing the sanwa m11x set but i have to be sure because its a lot of money
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 03:05 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
scary_jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 395
Smile

The problems started about 2 weeks ago for the latest spektrum victum I mentioned. He's an electronics tech and could not figure out why it went goofy on him. It just so happens that his fix is the m11x you mentioned. He found one but I won't know how it's working until club race tomorrow. He just decided to give up on the JR problems that have plagued others locally.
scary_jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 03:29 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 401
Default

Thanks jerry for the reply, keep me posted will you. apreciate it

So there are more with this problem? you say.
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 03:46 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lake View Terrace, CA. ~ Where Rodney King got his Asswoopin!
Posts: 309
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Thumbs up Me Also

I have been haveing issues with my Savox's also. I had to send both 1283SG I have back and they replaced both. I have talked to Joel at Savox USA Today. And he has told me Savox servos have a problem with the DXM technolgy. So yes you might need to change transmitter & reciver to something NOT spektrum. I am looking for a M11x or M11 also. To switch to. But I just don't have any money.( I'm unemployed).
__________________
Mugen MBX7 | H.E.S. Tuned Nova Rossi P5XLT |Losi 8ight T 2.0| Clocked Nova Rossi Bonito | Werks B5 | Comp Heat| Byrons Race Fuel | Pro-Line/AKA | Hitec | Airtronics MT4 | Savox |
**Special Thank You To ~ Randy Gilergan!!! **Sponsored By ~ NONE
** https://www.facebook.com/BillFoundationDogRescue**
chiefin on 420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/18 Scale - BRP, HPI Micro ozone Singapore R/C Racers 4034 09-03-2009 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -8. It is currently 01:28 AM.



SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0