Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help from experience Nitro racers

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2005, 09:49 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Help from experienced Nitro racers

I am making my first venture into the wonderful world of Nitro Touring. I have been racing electric for 18 years so I am not new to R/C. I am looking for a highly competitive yet reliable & durable car. What would you recommend - Serpent 710, Mugen MTX3, HPI R40, AE NTC3.

Don't just tell me you prefer one because that is what you race...tell me the pros & cons of the car you prefer.

Thanks for the help

Clint Wyckoff
Indianapolis, IN

Last edited by FastHound; 02-21-2005 at 11:44 AM.
Old 02-21-2005, 11:45 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Nitro car

YGM
Old 02-21-2005, 11:49 AM
Tech Regular

Out of the cars you mentioned I personally like the 710 the most. Cost and performance is above the rest in my opinion. However everyone has their own opinion.

Also include the Kyosho's in there (RRR and 05RR). All great cars. I had the NTC3 last year. Although it was very easy to work on and maintain (VERY Easy), it took alot to keep the car in top shape. Also on larger tracks it suffered on top end and the quality of the parts was suspect.

I am currently in the process of building a Kyosho RRR WC Edition and there is absolutely no comparison in quality(to Associated). The fit and finish is second to none.

The Mugen is great also but very $$$$, and the HPI takes alot of upgrades to make that fast from what I hear (maybe R40 owners can clarify that).

Just make sure your LHS has spares or that you order a TON in(but hey you know that already-18years).

Serpent and Kyosho seem to be the winning cars at the moment...

Either way just get into Nitro!! What took so long!!

Good luck and have fun,

John
Old 02-21-2005, 12:16 PM

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)