Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Lrp 30 spec 2 in mugen seiki mrx4x

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2012, 11:46 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Lrp 30 spec 2 in mugen seiki mrx4x

I recently acquired a Mugen seiki mrx4x and was wondering if I can run a lrp 30 spec 2 in the chassis. The engine fits but I'm not sure if it would be a good idea as I am new to this. The lrp is just a spare engine I had laying around but I also don't want to blow it up seeing how its only rated at 33k rpm. I seen a Guy asking about the 30x in a dm1 a few posts down so I figured I would ask if this was a good idea or not as the 2 cars are very different. Any insight?
Old 03-28-2012, 01:00 PM
Tech Apprentice

There's no problem running it, but you will be missing about 12 000RPMs.

So you should compensate it with as long gearing as possible. (45/22 & 48/17) with big tyres. Be carefull for leaning the engine too much. It will not be as fast as onroad engines.

-X-
Old 03-28-2012, 06:14 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by MRX4XXXX
There's no problem running it, but you will be missing about 12 000RPMs.

So you should compensate it with as long gearing as possible. (45/22 & 48/17) with big tyres. Be carefull for leaning the engine too much. It will not be as fast as onroad engines.

-X-
Could you inform me more on what you mean by 45/22 and 48/17. Also, what would be a cheaper reliable motor to put in this car? Know anybody selling a nice used motor for a decent price by chance?
Old 03-28-2012, 07:29 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by Rsc450
Could you inform me more on what you mean by 45/22 and 48/17. Also, what would be a cheaper reliable motor to put in this car? Know anybody selling a nice used motor for a decent price by chance?
The only second hand engines I'd buy are from top drivers who are buying new engines because they are faster and newer. Buying an engine off anyone because it wasnt fast enough means they've pushed it hard already and the best is gone.