Wiki Posts
Search

Team C 1/8 GT car

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2013, 07:39 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)

Originally Posted by jmoneym
50% throttle I was believing the story till then.
LMAO,

Believe it or not brother, it's the God's honest truth. I'm still smiling about my experience. I have been a Pro racer for a long time and it's very hard to truly impress me. Especially when racing, the cars always look like they are going in slow motion when driving.

But this was not the case, I was coming off the stand saying Holly Crap that is FASSSST!!!

BTW, ask Marcus he was the one that set up the carb.
Old 12-16-2013, 10:08 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

J its true and the reason is because what i typically do when breaking in REDS engines is after the initial bench tanks are done i run 5 tanks at 50% mechanical carb settings ( remove carbs and set endpoint so that it only opens up 50%). And then drive the car normally, quick shift and at 200*. Well after the run in tanks were done as I began leaning it out it had more than enough power so I decided to just race tune it with the same settings and see how it reacted! Well to our surprise even at 50% throttle it was simply almost too fast! Took Tony a few tanks to get used to the power and not overshoot turns! I can safely say that his car had at least 5 or 6mph more speed than any of us even me! His car was coming off the track at 218* which IMO is the perfect temp for these engines. Put it this way we had to tighten up shift points because if it shifted early in the middle of the track it would power surge so quick that you almost could not get on the brakes fast enough to slow it down!