Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Help with switching to 30%. >

Help with switching to 30%.

Help with switching to 30%.

Old 06-18-2002, 08:35 AM
Tech Regular

Default Help with switching to 30%.

I need some advice on switching to 30% nitro content. What do I have to do to my engines so they run on 30% fuel? Do I have to put any shims? All I know is that I should be running a hotter plug and richening the engine out a little after the switch.

BTW, the engines are mt12's both turbo and non turbo if it helps.

Thanks.
Old 06-18-2002, 01:00 PM
Tech Addict

You are almost right. You want to run a Colder plug with higher nitro and a hotter plug for lower nitro. As far as shimming, i have been running 20-30% nitro for a few years and the only thing you will have to do is adjust the mixture.
Old 06-18-2002, 01:27 PM
Tech Regular

Are you sure I should be running a colder plug? I noticed a lot of good racers both local and factory sponsered running really hot plugs with 30%. This is what I was told by some really good racers. Since the engine has to run a little richer with the 30%, you need a hotter plug to burn the extra fuel. This makes sense to me anyway.
Any help would be apprecaited.
Old 06-18-2002, 01:31 PM
Tech Addict

I personally have never heard that. The problem with running a really hot plug with high nitro is premature detonation. Now if it is cold out yes you may want a hotter plug than usual. Are the guys that are telling you this winning races?? I run an OS # 8 which is a cold plug. Sorry I cant be more help, I will try to find something that explains it alittle better.
Old 06-18-2002, 01:35 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

#8 is not a cold plug. The heat rating go like this

R5 is cold
A5 is medium
#8 is medium hot
A3 is hot
Old 06-18-2002, 01:39 PM
Tech Regular

Yes, these guys that are telling me this win races. Even Robbie Collins use mc-59 plugs when its really hot out with both 30% and 40% fuel in mt-12s.