Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Best way to learn this sport? >

Best way to learn this sport?

Best way to learn this sport?

Old 09-18-2011, 05:59 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Best way to learn this sport?

Hey guys,

I'm new here but have been interested in Nitro cars for years. I've watched several races when I happen to run across them in my daily travels. My wife would get pissed at me because I would insist on staying and watching the race I had just found.

I want to be more than the occasional watcher, I'd like to get a car and see if I can keep up with you guys.

Not sure if I should start with electric, or just jump into the gas first. Don't have much experience with RC stuff, but I've been racing for 30 years now in real cars.

What is the best way to get started in this hobby? Where can I get the best deal on used stuff, and how do I know what is good and what is total junk?

I'll read my butt off if someone tells me where to go that will give me accurate info I can trust.

One more thing, it seems like this sport sorta dies in the winter, is that true? Is there not many indoor tracks, do the gas cars not race inside?

Anyway, thanks in advance for any info you might be able to give me.

Thanks!

Mm
Old 09-18-2011, 07:20 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Couple of things to consider,

1. Do you have a hobby shop in town
2. Is there racing in town
3. What do the local racers race

Go hang at the races and talk to them, they want you to race

If you are not sure you will like it, buy used its cheaper.
Old 09-18-2011, 07:45 PM
Tech Rookie

Thanks for the reply.

I'm sorry about not telling you where I'm at, I thought it would show up next to my name? Anyway I'm in Portland, Oregon.

I know there are clubs here in town, I thought maybe I could do a bunch of reading online or something similar before I go and sound like an idiot at one of the clubs.