GT 1/8 Scale Rules and Set-Up Information

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

GT 1/8 Scale Rules and Set-Up Information

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2011, 05:54 PM
Tech Addict

I race with Havy at least once a month and like him I use my tires until there is no more rubber on them. I have used most tires from every tire manufacturer and they are really good. I have been racing for more than 20 years and the only reason for the electric races going to a spec tire is just because of the inserts not really the tires. Most manufacturers have a few shores available but a lot of times the inserts from other brands give the advantage. This is why I don't understand the spec tire thing. Who here actually glues their GT tires? Almost no one I bet. And like others have said if you burn one set per event you are most defitively the wrong shore. If its on the economic side then tire hardness has to come into play not brand. Here we have a growing group that keeps growing every race weekend. Right now we are more than 30 with more than 25 racing every month. Or key to growing is bringing new racers by helping them. Our only limits are only rubber tires and shaft driven cars and no Lola bodies. We allow any rubber tire and that in the end helps out every local hobby because if you (the LHS) can get X brand of tires and not Y then everyone can make some sort of financial gain in the class and brings the price down so it is actually cheaper to allow free enterprise in the long run. I'm sorry for the long post but from my point of view every trully Spec class is destined for failure.
Old 06-28-2011, 06:01 PM
Tech Addict