Community
Wiki Posts
Search

new to onroad...good kit?

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2004, 04:41 PM
Tech Initiate

Default new to onroad...good kit?

I am planning on building a nitro on road car. I've been racing and bashing offroad monstertrucks for about four years now, so I have alot of experience wiht nitro...
but I dont know which kit to get.

I would like a kit, not an RTR, one with good features that could be raced with little hopups...
I was thinking the Team Associated Factory team kit...would this be a good chioce?

what would be better?

I have a good radio so all I would need would be the kit and a motor...

thanks guys

pedro
Old 08-07-2004, 04:48 PM
Tech Adept

Some things to consider, where you race and what the other guys race as well. Does your local shop support what they sell?
The MTX3 is an awesome car, as is the TC3. All makes are good kits, some are better than others. The Serpent 705 is top notch, but you will spend plenty in spare parts, the HPI R-40 is also a killer ride and very reasonable on the parts.
If I where to get back into Sedan, it would be the R-40 or the MTX3, simply because parts are reasonable and they are very strong cars.
Hope this helps you out,
Smitty
Old 08-07-2004, 07:48 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

The ofna ld3 pro is great. Ofna is making a new car called the cd3 which is a new version of the ld3. You can get the ld3 pro for about $220. It is so durable that my buddy was jumping his ld3 rtr off ramps. Also at the track, i can keep up with the mtx-3 easily. For the price i think it would be the best bet.
Old 08-07-2004, 08:47 PM
Tech Initiate

the cars you mentioned (aside from the ld3) are belt driven...which is better? belt or shaft drive?

I like the looks (and especially the pricing) of the LD3, but I only see it as an RTR...I would much rather have a kit than an RTR. Any ideas where I can find a kit?

And is the LD3 pretty much race ready?