Wiki Posts
Search

Which body to use??

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2010, 09:23 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Which body to use??

I just picked up an MRX4X form a buddy. I am kind of new to 1/8 scale onraod and I was just wondering if somebody could point me in the right direction as to which body to get. There are two tracks I would run at. One is a tight parking lot track and the other is a big wide open track.
Old 08-24-2010, 09:41 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally Posted by ChadB.
I just picked up an MRX4X form a buddy. I am kind of new to 1/8 scale onraod and I was just wondering if somebody could point me in the right direction as to which body to get. There are two tracks I would run at. One is a tight parking lot track and the other is a big wide open track.
willing to share my body choice,im using blitz r09,lola 05 and protoform shadow,frizbee and p909 lightweight,but there alot body choice out there,for big track im using protoform p909 or blitz r09 and for small track im using blitz 05..
Old 08-24-2010, 10:04 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

With todays hi powered cars, you can really experiemnt with rear downforce either by raising the Gurney wing or not installing one. Generally speaking, the 'sharper' edged LOLA style bodies are better for long tracks and the CanAm style bodies like Protoforms 909 is a decent performer for most tracks. Ask the rest of the pros how to mount the bodies to gain additional downforce.

I have two in my arsenal. The LOLA and the 909. IMO I find painting the 909 is easier for it has flowing lines and easier to get all the paint in even strokes
Old 08-24-2010, 10:54 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

909 all the way. Just make sure to mount it right. It needs to be at least 13mm from the bumper to the front edge of the body. Any less and it will not turn at all. I like 14 better.
Old 08-24-2010, 11:29 AM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by wingracer