Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Problem with my inferno GT

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 08:13 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Problem with my inferno GT

Hey, new to this forum, so.. Anyway, I've been trying to restore my Inferno GT (the first version, not the new one) because It's been sitting in my basement for a few years. The engine works fine, and I'm planning on getting new servos for it soon, but a problem I've noticed is that it doesn't shift into second gear. The gears are new, just replaced them, and I put the transmission back together just as the manual says. In a way, I'm new to nitros cuz i sorta forgot what to do, and there's really no LHS nearby me. Can anybody tell me if i'm missing something here?
Old 01-19-2010, 08:23 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

go to gt buggy base onroad thread they will help you
Old 01-19-2010, 09:43 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Sounds like you need to adjust the 2nd gear shift point. But make sure that the transmission is not shifting into 2nd as soon as the clutch engages.
I recommend the Proboards Kyosho Inferno GT site, http://infernogt.proboards.com/
there is lots of information you can read related to setting up the pawl type transmission to shift.
Old 01-19-2010, 10:11 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

Check if your 2 speed clutch/changer is working properly.If it is,then you have to adjust it by screwing in the set-screw on it.In your situation,try screwing in the set-screw more,clockwise,it will make the clutch/changer shift later in the powerband enabling you to hear the shift.

Or check your 2nd gear spur,it has the little pin notched in the gear for engagement.Sometimes that pin wears out and the clutch/changer cannot engage/contact the pin.

Check the manual on page 8 for the clutch/changer adjustment.
Hope this helps a little.
Old 01-20-2010, 09:58 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)