R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road-3/)
-   -   new to on road any suggestions on a good all around touring car (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road/353512-new-road-any-suggestions-good-all-around-touring-car.html)

Brinkster96 12-20-2009 05:51 PM

new to on road any suggestions on a good all around touring car

im new to on road cars but not new to the sport i have three off road trucks and i thought i might try an on road car so any suggestions to good 1/10 scale touring cars that are good for beginers would be appreciated.

any coments are great
THANKS

blis 12-20-2009 09:50 PM

What do the others run...

Originally Posted by Brinkster96 (Post 6744548)
im new to on road cars but not new to the sport i have three off road trucks and i thought i might try an on road car so any suggestions to good 1/10 scale touring cars that are good for beginers would be appreciated.

any coments are great
THANKS

Unlike offroad racing where transmission of power on offroad allows for traction loss by the surface alone, it relieves the stress on the car. On road racing is all about traction and managing the bite. In addition, off road cars are spec'd to be tougher and more resilient, on road racing is all about reducing weight to near breaking points.

We use belts that wear, we devour pinions and spurs, we chew tyres in far less time and we need additional gear like starter boxes, tyre truers, clutch tools, 2 speed transmission etc etc etc.

Go to your nearest on road race track and see what the others are using, identify the clutches they use and what the most popular choice is there. Consider the additional expenses involved in getting as much power down as possible, no slip, no drift and no airtime.