Wiki Posts
Search

HPI RS4 RTR:Good Beginner Car?

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2003, 07:59 PM
Tech Initiate

HPI RS4 RTR:Good Beginner Car?

HI All,

I'm new to the nitro scene, but not too long ago did I own 2 eletric on-roads. Well, for the love of this hobby, I found my-self slowly getting back into it. Only difference this time, I am going nitro. I have found a car, but would like ot know if it's a good canidate. It is a HPI RS4 RTR model, a friend on mines from whom I'll be buying from. It includes all accesoires necessary to run, besides fuel and batteries need replaced. It also has a few mods(ex.exhaust, 2 speed tranny,etc...), so I am sure it is plenty fast. My Q's are, as me being a beginner, is this a good starter car? Are their plenty of upgrades(even though it's the older model RS4). And Q's of that sort. Since he hasn't ran the car in a while, how would I tune the engine for colder weather? Q's of that sort... All help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-28-2003, 10:14 PM
Tech Addict

you can still find parts for the RS4, but i would recommend you look elsewhere as far as having a long term car (if that is what you are looking for). even after spending a lot of money on options the car may be lacking compared to the newer cars. also the stock drivetrain components were not designed to handle higher horsepower output of the newer engines.

if you personally like the car (like my friend, who has an awesome modded RS4 2), then by all means get it. but if you are looking for cheap way to get into the hobby again, then i suggest buying a sport kit and starting from scratch instead of buying a used nitro car.
Old 11-29-2003, 01:58 AM
Tech Master