R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 02:46 PM   #556
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 478
Send a message via MSN to PMSorber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Novarossi View Post
Issue I had was installing standard size Sanwa WX Digital servos. As you can see, I had to raise them about 4mm above the top plate to just clear the chassis. There was no mention of this anywhere in the manual, and I read over it 100 times. Looks like the car was designed to handle a low profile servo. Did anyone else experience this problem?
I dont think the car is special designed for low profile as far as I know, maybe Alex can comment on this. This type Sanwa servo's are about 2 or 3mm higher than others, we have had the same issue with a number of cars in the past.
__________________
@ConSult Trading
Team Shepherd, PiraniRC, Sonic and Awesomatix BENELUX
www.team-shepherd.nl
PMSorber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 03:36 PM   #557
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,658
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The problem is that so called "standard" servos are not standard. They all vary slightly in dimensions, even within the same brand sometimes. That's why some cars like Mugens come with a dozen different mounts for all the different servos. Without that, some shimming may be required with some servos.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:12 PM   #558
Tech Elite
 
Michael_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,031
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

I think your both right!

The same servos were used in other cars, without the need to shim them up however. I have blown several low profile servos in the past which is why I don't like them in nitro cars. Most recently, I blew a brand new KO low profile servo, and KO USA warned they would not repair the servo again if it is used in nitro cars as it was NOT recommended.

It is such a shame, the V10 has such a low COG, and raising the servo 4mm was painful to do
__________________
Shepherd RC | Brilliant RC | Arrowmax | Xtreme Aerodynamics | Matrix | Tectrade TTB

BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:18 PM   #559
Tech Regular
 
musti72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Turkey
Posts: 442
Default

You should try the Sav÷x sc-1251mg low profile servo. It has proven itself in France in a 6 hour enduro race with no problems, fitted on a nt1 as a gas servo.
For the price you cant beat it.
__________________
Mustafa Alp

http://www.aytemizhobi.com
Turkish shop for: Serpent, Xceed, Sweep Racing, MyLaps
musti72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:58 PM   #560
Tech Master
 
DS Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,437
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The Kopropo low profile servo is useless. Mine was broken within one race.
Last season I used a low profile Futaba servo for all the races without any problem what so ever. Servo still looks perfect, no signs of overheating or anything. For the 2010 season I bought a Team orion low profile (same as savox) for steering, see how that goes.
__________________
P1-RC.com
DS Motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:23 PM   #561
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,150
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

Michael as always with new cars you have to do these small modifications.. its all fun. maybe shepherd will pick you up to help design the factory team edition? i can see the headlines now...
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:24 PM   #562
Tech Elite
 
Michael_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,031
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Michael_T
Default

Johnny, you have been visiting this V10 forum quiet alot??
__________________
Shepherd RC | Brilliant RC | Arrowmax | Xtreme Aerodynamics | Matrix | Tectrade TTB

BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
Michael_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 11:08 PM   #563
Tech Adept
 
awins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 137
Default

johnny wants one thats why lol when you coming back to race at trackside qlds i hope
awins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 11:52 PM   #564
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awins View Post
johnny wants one thats why lol when you coming back to race at trackside qlds i hope
what do they use them for indoor drifting.
The_Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:31 AM   #565
Tech Adept
 
awins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 137
Wink

no just to drive around mugens lol
awins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:46 AM   #566
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Trackside is an indoor track.
The_Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:52 AM   #567
Tech Adept
 
awins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 137
Wink

brendale you n lol
awins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:59 AM   #568
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sorry tony
i have only raced at QRCCRA and never at trackside as they are to different entities.

One is an INDOOR racing and a shop called TRACKSIDE .
While the other is an OUTDOOR racing called England Park/QRCCRA/Brendale.

Peter
The_Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:12 AM   #569
Tech Adept
 
awins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 137
Thumbs up

well peter u new what i meant sorry cya at the track
awins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:16 PM   #570
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK,the sunny north
Posts: 329
Default

hi guys, could someone give me an idea of the size of battery pack you vcan fit in the v10, i want to have a look round for a 6.6v LiFe pack before my car gets here
jas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitro On-Road Addict sa RC Manila Racers 12522 12-27-2015 06:51 PM
Sheperd Velox moy Nitro On-Road 585 04-19-2012 10:51 AM
Serpent 733 vs. Shepherd Velox V10 Geberit Nitro On-Road 27 07-06-2009 05:28 PM
Upgrade/ RCiD ryno1922 Nitro On-Road 26 03-31-2009 02:49 PM
Shepherd Velox V10 macaurc Nitro On-Road 31 03-02-2009 09:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0