R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2010, 04:45 AM   #1381
Tech Master
 
Winner's Circle's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Posts: 1,153
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quietstorm76 View Post
Do any Mugen belts fit the 966? I just found a bag of MRX4 belts and wondered if any can be used before I get rid of them.
I always ran a Mugen rear belt as a front belt on my Serpent 960 due to it being the same length but wider. I had aluminum pulleys for both front belt positions and they were wide enough so that the extra width was not a problem.

I think I got longer belt life due to the added width.

Lee
__________________
Lee Muse
[email protected]
Kyosho ST-RR, Kyosho MP9, Murnan Modified Engines
Winner's Circle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 07:56 AM   #1382
Tech Elite
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey Lee, how are you? I have 4 front belts and 2 rear. I'm just gonna see if they fit. I have to change all the belts anyway.
__________________
Team Shepherd USA:Nugget's Ranch Raceway
Primary Weapon: ?
Secondary Weapon: ?
Tires>>> I don't know yet
quietstorm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 09:04 AM   #1383
Tech Master
 
Winner's Circle's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA
Posts: 1,153
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quietstorm76 View Post
Hey Lee, how are you? I have 4 front belts and 2 rear. I'm just gonna see if they fit. I have to change all the belts anyway.
I am doing great. Thanks for asking. How is that baby?

When I used the Mugen rear belt in front with plastic pulleys the belt was slightly too wide. When I first tried this I would trim the edge of the belt with an exacto knife but I later found that this was unnecessary because after 1 tank of fuel an untrimmed belt would wear the edges off so that the 9mm belt was about 8mm and it now fit perfectly.

Give it a try. I think you will find that the belt will last longer than the 6mm belt that it was designed to use.

Lee
__________________
Lee Muse
[email protected]
Kyosho ST-RR, Kyosho MP9, Murnan Modified Engines
Winner's Circle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 11:15 AM   #1384
Tech Elite
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winner's Circle View Post
I am doing great. Thanks for asking. How is that baby?

When I used the Mugen rear belt in front with plastic pulleys the belt was slightly too wide. When I first tried this I would trim the edge of the belt with an exacto knife but I later found that this was unnecessary because after 1 tank of fuel an untrimmed belt would wear the edges off so that the 9mm belt was about 8mm and it now fit perfectly.

Give it a try. I think you will find that the belt will last longer than the 6mm belt that it was designed to use.

Lee
Good advice. I'll do that. I can at least use the belts while breaking in motors and practice.
__________________
Team Shepherd USA:Nugget's Ranch Raceway
Primary Weapon: ?
Secondary Weapon: ?
Tires>>> I don't know yet
quietstorm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:13 PM   #1385
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Tire wear

my car handling/setup is to my liking but there's a problem with my rear tire wear. it's wearing too fast.

i started with a front and rear 35shore 7mm split but after about 20-25mins, the split is only about 3mm left, what could i do to reduce the rear wear? or maybe increase front wear?

most easy way is to use a harder rear tire shore or softer front shore?
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:45 PM   #1386
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Caster and Front Wheelbase

Hi,

When making adjustments to caster on the front top axle, do i have to make corresponding changes to front wheelbase as well?

I played around with caster during my last session... i put 5mm caster clips in the front of top axle, but left wheelbase untoched... my front tire wear was funny... the wear was not even from inside to out. it was a little conical... the outside of the wheel had a larger diameter and this decreased going towards the inside of the wheel, but at the last 1mm or so to the inside, the diameter increased...

not sure if you guys can picture what i'm trying to describe...

in any case, any insight / comments / feedback welcome.

thanks

sam
sammies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:00 AM   #1387
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammies View Post
Hi,

When making adjustments to caster on the front top axle, do i have to make corresponding changes to front wheelbase as well? I played around with caster during my last session... i put 5mm caster clips in the front of top axle, but left wheelbase untoched... my front tire wear was funny... the wear was not even from inside to out. it was a little conical... the outside of the wheel had a larger diameter and this decreased going towards the inside of the wheel, but at the last 1mm or so to the inside, the diameter increased...

not sure if you guys can picture what i'm trying to describe...

in any case, any insight / comments / feedback welcome.

thanks

sam
I know what you mean.
The inside wheel should wear like that, straight or maybe a little conical to the inside and with this small "flap"

Caster and wheelbase you should thread independent.
If your car needs more turn, shorten the wheelbase, if it's nervous, enlarge it.
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:40 AM   #1388
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroWD View Post
my car handling/setup is to my liking but there's a problem with my rear tire wear. it's wearing too fast.

i started with a front and rear 35shore 7mm split but after about 20-25mins, the split is only about 3mm left, what could i do to reduce the rear wear? or maybe increase front wear?

most easy way is to use a harder rear tire shore or softer front shore?
Most drivers in the USA use a softer shore front tire. 35R with a 32F for example. The rears still wear out more so you might go from a 7mm split to a 5mm. Some people have tried 37R with 32F to get more even wear but most stay with one shore softer.
__________________
Desoto Racing
Novarossi America, Serpent America, TOP Engines, Matrix Racing Tires, ProCircuit, Titan/Blitz Products, Xceed Products, KO Propo, Enneti, ArrowMax

[email protected], www.serpentamerica.com
jdesoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 04:45 PM   #1389
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdesoto View Post
Most drivers in the USA use a softer shore front tire. 35R with a 32F for example. The rears still wear out more so you might go from a 7mm split to a 5mm. Some people have tried 37R with 32F to get more even wear but most stay with one shore softer.

thinking of doing that to try how will my current setup be affected...
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:52 PM   #1390
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Default

yea true, sick bro
GioRacer96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 04:31 AM   #1391
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default middle axle pulley

hi,
just wondering what's the effect if we're to use 24T for the middle axle pulley instead of the 25T?

under what situations and when do we want to use the 24T?
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:21 PM   #1392
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 209
Default

Hi Guys

Looking at various setup's listed on Serpent's web page I have noticed that the 966 is prefered to be used with thicker shock oil than the 960. What is the reason for this?

I have no knowledge on the 966 as I am still running a 960-08 that I run with an almost default set-up.

Regards.
JIM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 01:34 PM   #1393
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,821
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JIM1 View Post
Hi Guys

Looking at various setup's listed on Serpent's web page I have noticed that the 966 is prefered to be used with thicker shock oil than the 960. What is the reason for this?

I have no knowledge on the 966 as I am still running a 960-08 that I run with an almost default set-up.

Regards.
I havent looked at the setups on the site, but you also need to look at the shock piston they're using. Some drivers will use thicker oil with more holes and other will use thiner oil with less holes.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:08 PM   #1394
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 362
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrodude View Post
I havent looked at the setups on the site, but you also need to look at the shock piston they're using. Some drivers will use thicker oil with more holes and other will use thiner oil with less holes.
speaking of shock pistons... how do you tell what # hole the setup sheet suggests?

the picture showing the shock piston has 4 holes. If one of the holes is "blacked out", does that mean a 3-hole or 1-hole piston is being used?

Sam
sammies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:15 PM   #1395
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

it means 3 hole is being used.
yappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 960.... M7H Nitro On-Road 3281 11-14-2013 10:23 AM
Team Kamikaze Rc Racing Team Kamikaze Racing Forum 17924 08-31-2012 03:25 PM
Serpent's Lair ordinaryzam Malaysian R/C Racers 316 10-30-2009 12:29 AM
1/8th & 1/10th 200mm GAS POWERED ON ROAD OPEN RACE Kylelim Singapore R/C Racers 98 04-24-2009 11:10 PM
Melaka Club Race 1/8, 1/10 GP and EP 2WD MINI - 1st March 09 zali_sh Malaysian R/C Racers 185 03-09-2009 10:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net