R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2009, 04:49 PM   #616
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm_PT View Post
Hi. Can anyone tell me how many teeth each belt has in a Serpent 960/966? I know they are S3M, but don't know the teeth number.

Thanks
Nevermind, it was right there in Serpent's site:

Front:60S3M201
Rear: 80S3M210
Side: 60S3M432

Divide the second number by 3 and you get the teeth.
Storm_PT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 01:37 AM   #617
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default

gday there again guys,was hoping for some more help if i could?
just after some setup info,body setup,tire size and what not,just a good starting point,im just going to use the default setup for now,until i get used to the car,the body im using is a blitz lola r09,also, you guys use the laydown setup for throttle servo?cheers heaps for the help,i cant wait to start on this puppy,looks like a sweet bit of gear,cheers and beers,burty.
sorry one more thing,can one way lube be substitued for anything else,or is it a special lube??sorry for the dumb questions.

Last edited by burty; 07-08-2009 at 02:03 AM.
burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:49 AM   #618
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

The default set-up is a real good starting point.
I actually only drive with more caster, so the front upper suspension arm 2mm more backward then default...
Depending on the track you will be running the car on, and the possible corner speed, always look at how your tires wear and make camber adjustments from there.

The one way lube really is only meant for that, it is so thin, that using it as a lubrication anywhere else to me is useless....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 02:57 AM   #619
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

for oneway you need a very thin oil or the oneway will heatup from friction. I suggest either a specific oneway lube or gun oil.

depending on your country sometimes its easier to find one then the other.

Places to look.

Hobby stores (duh), Bearing distributers (for brand specific lubes), gun shops
__________________
Serdar Aytemiz

Racing since the 20th century
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:11 AM   #620
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Haha, I totally misunderstood his question about the one way lube Toughbeard....

@Burty, can't really give you info about the body, because I drive the Zytec, but I think if you mount it about 10mm in front of the bumber, it should be ok.

Laydown throttle or not... it depends on what you want.
I don't use the laydown option, but installed my receiver next to it, to be able to change frequency (non spectrum driver)..

I did mount my throttle servo under the radio plate to lower it (can only be done if it fits between radio plate and chassis)
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:26 AM   #621
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
Haha, I totally misunderstood his question about the one way lube Toughbeard....

@Burty, can't really give you info about the body, because I drive the Zytec, but I think if you mount it about 10mm in front of the bumber, it should be ok.

Laydown throttle or not... it depends on what you want.
I don't use the laydown option, but installed my receiver next to it, to be able to change frequency (non spectrum driver)..

I did mount my throttle servo under the radio plate to lower it (can only be done if it fits between radio plate and chassis)
And I forgot to comment on the other issues Getting old

Laydown Servo: More work , gets the CG down if your using a heavy servo. I find it more prone to malfuntion. (more parts moving) . protects servo from spills better but lets the servo be attention of heavy damage.

I have a protoform Lola and a blitz body. I have ordered some zytecs as well. blitz is slower but has a lot of traction on the front. Lola is fast but pushes a little so need to reset. Protoform lola has a very long nose I didnt check the measurement but I centered the frnt wheels to the body wheel wells. Seems to work fine for now.
__________________
Serdar Aytemiz

Racing since the 20th century
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:35 AM   #622
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default

thanks heaps for the help guys,your a wealth of knowledge on this forum,i imagine you will be hearing from me again in the not to distant future,cheers heaps.
burty.
burty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:48 AM   #623
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toughbeard View Post
Getting old
Same here...
But, recently won an open club / 40+ race here in Holland, which made me feel young again!...
Quote:
I have a protoform Lola and a blitz body. I have ordered some zytecs as well.
Protoform Lola?
You mean this one:
And the Blitz, is that the same idea, or the newest R09...

Because if not, you will really feel a BIG difference with the Zytec... and once you get used to it and changed the car set-up accordingly, a BIG smile on your face...

I even retired my custom painted centrals (used 2 of them) after trying the "home painted" Zytec...

Quote:
Originally Posted by burty View Post
thanks heaps for the help guys,your a wealth of knowledge on this forum,i imagine you will be hearing from me again in the not to distant future,cheers heaps.
burty.
Your welcome!
__________________
Serpent

Last edited by M7H; 07-08-2009 at 04:11 AM.
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:56 AM   #624
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
Same here...
But, recently won a open club / 40+ race here in Holland, which made me feel young again!...
Yeah I won the Nationals last year in Electric Touring here in Turkey that made me feel young,too. until the next monday

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
Protoform Lola?
You mean this one:
http://www.m7h.nl/m7h/950R_files/950-9.JPG
And the Blitz, is that the same idea, or the newest R09...


Because if not, you will really feel a BIG difference with the Zytec... and once you get used to it and changed the car set-up accordingly, a BIG smile on your face...
yeap I have one of those and this
__________________
Serdar Aytemiz

Racing since the 20th century
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 04:10 AM   #625
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toughbeard View Post
yeap I have one of those and this
Well, be ready for some change then....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 07:18 AM   #626
Tech Addict
 
Toughbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 508
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
Well, be ready for some change then....
I need to make my own body
__________________
Serdar Aytemiz

Racing since the 20th century
Toughbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:08 AM   #627
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

guys, i just put in the brass battery holder on my 966, i run a nimh pack, and i cant setup the carb with out hitting the tank now. any suggestions on how to remedy ? i could put 2 extra O rings on the base of the carb, but has anyone got a better idea ? cheers. Patto....
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:24 AM   #628
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,191
Default

You are running the 2/3 NIMH cells?
The brass battery tray is meant for lipo's...
You could maybe go to "AAA" cells, to be able to lower the tank a bit....

__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:28 AM   #629
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

na i run the 1600mah pack similar to what guys run in the mugens. i know its higher, but it works with the carbon tray. far as i could see, the brass was close to the same depth, with the recess, it fits in snug, but just a little bit too high.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:36 AM   #630
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca.
Posts: 1,933
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to motojon
Default

yah brass is for Lipo the carbon is for everything else also if you dont have it, run the balance wheight that hangs off the X brace too
__________________
My Gpa(RIP)
motojon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 960.... M7H Nitro On-Road 3281 11-14-2013 11:23 AM
Team Kamikaze Rc Racing Team Kamikaze Racing Forum 17924 08-31-2012 04:25 PM
Serpent's Lair ordinaryzam Malaysian R/C Racers 316 10-30-2009 01:29 AM
1/8th & 1/10th 200mm GAS POWERED ON ROAD OPEN RACE Kylelim Singapore R/C Racers 98 04-25-2009 12:10 AM
Melaka Club Race 1/8, 1/10 GP and EP 2WD MINI - 1st March 09 zali_sh Malaysian R/C Racers 185 03-09-2009 11:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0