R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2008, 01:53 PM   #1
Tech Adept
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 166
Default So who runs a LiPo RX without a regulator?

I noticed more and more "Pro" racers plugging their LiPo batteries directly into their receiver.

Anyone doing this? Will it work ok with Futaba?

implusepro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:24 PM   #2
Tech Champion
Roelof's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,355
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof

The 2.4 ghz receivers are equiped with an intern regulator only for the receiver and today you can find more servo's made for higher voltages, JR has some models with interesting specs.

I think the guys using no regulator know what their electronics can have and some do not and are lucky.....
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:30 PM   #3
Tech Addict
TrickPonYracing's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Charlotte Fla
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

servos don't last as long i get a season if lucky and some don't make that but the speeds and tourqe are off the chart and response time is down ,and i dont charge all weekend thats the best of all...... in the radio i charge once every month or so

FORGASS President 2006/2007.2007/2008. 2008/2009

V/P Charlotte R/C Raceway

Team Anchor for .. ReD CuP RacinG ..

Team Driver for TORO Fuel
TrickPonYracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 03:49 PM   #4
Tech Addict
KyoshokiddT.D's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: st james city
Posts: 637

i would definately run a regulator.if you dont you have a good chance to blow a servo in the middle of a race and not finish. rather safe then sorry.
KyoshokiddT.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 04:05 PM   #5
Tech Champion
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

JR is coming out with a new "HIGH VOLTAGE" servo, which is designed for use with a7.4V Lipo battery, now if this are the servos you are going to be using, then you don't need a Voltage Regulator.
here is a link: http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...D=JRPSZ9100HVS
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 05:07 PM   #6
Tech Regular
meronr's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476

I was also assured(By Robert from KO America) that you can use ko digital servos without a regulator, so long as you are using a ko 2.4 ghz transmitter and receiver don't know if you can do this with futaba I would recommend calling futaba and asking them.
Meron Rubinowitsch
meronr is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0