Community
Wiki Posts
Search

HPI R40 Nitro Car Forum

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2006, 11:53 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by ex
hey everyone.. i've been lurking these forums for awhile and i finally decided to make an account. anywho, i love how everyone here is so helpful and informative. i just thought i'd say hi and ask if anyone could be so kind as to point out a good hobby shop i can check out in southern california. also, since i'm just new to the world of r/c. should i start on something like the rs4 3 before jump onto the r40? thanks again and i hope to here from you guys soon! =)
Ultimate Hobbies is the place for you. You can get the address and phone number from their web site at www.ultimatehobbies.com . The website sucks but the store is huge. As for starting out, it really depends on your budget and intentions. Do you want to race or just bash? If you have the budget and want to race, then going straight to the R40 will save you time and money in the long run. If you have limited money, and don't really want to race, the RS4-3 RTR is a good value.
Old 06-29-2006, 08:02 AM
Tech Initiate

I agree with Roy, I have both the R40 and the RS4 3 and I gotta say the R40 has the goods. But only if you plan on racing, the rs4 is great if you are gonna run around parking lots and the parts are cheap. Now you can run the R40 in a parking lot with no problem. But its like buying ferrari, and driving it like an old lady. Like Roy said its your budget. You could go with the RS4 18ss kit which is not an rtr, you have to build it. But it comes I believe with everything you need to get going save batts and fuel, etc. But you get the experience of building a kit which I think is valuable. It helps you understand the inner workings of an RC car.
Old 06-29-2006, 09:37 AM
Tech Master