Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Engine won't start

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2006, 03:55 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Engine won't start

I have what I think is the HPI Nitro Racer, bought from a private party a few months ago. I am a bit new to nitro so maybe someone can help me out with my problem here.

The car wouldn't start at all when i bought it, looks like because it's beeen sitting around and the previous owner never bother cleaning the engine or putting the after-run oil in it. The air valve in the carbureator won't even turn, it's all sticky and I can barely pull the pull-start string.

So, I opened up the carbureator, the engine head and took out the pull start from the engine and put some drops of after-run oil. I was able to start the engine, but it died again after running for a less than a minute.

I haven't been able to start it again since. I checked the glow plugs, igniter, leaks, but everything seems to be okay. I tested the glow plugs in my other car (nitro evo rush) and it works fine there, so it's not the igniter, plugs or fuel that's causing the problem.

I opened up the valve about 50% just to let some air flow hoping that the engine would start, but no luck.

Any ideas? I probably will have to dissamble the engine again and clean it some more, but I want to post this message just in case there is an easy fix here.

thx
Attached Thumbnails Engine won't start-img_1308-sjpg.jpg   Engine won't start-img_1315s.jpg   Engine won't start-img_1311s.jpg   Engine won't start-img_1322s.jpg   Engine won't start-evo-rush.jpg  

Old 09-26-2006, 04:07 PM
Tech Rookie

If the fuel tank has a primer, try that. or the car might be running to rich and cools off to fast to stay running. also make sure the piston still has compression. just some ideas that might help.
Old 09-26-2006, 04:16 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)