R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2006, 04:56 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default Crystal Switching... will it work?

I'm just wondering is it possible to switch crystal of different brand TX and RX?

I had a 2 car, 1 is a Kosho RTR equipt with Preflex RX & Servo and the other car is equipt with Futaba RX, TX & servos. I was wondering can i switch the crystal of the PREFLEX TX to my FUTABA 3PM FS PRO TX and use it to drive my PREFLEX RX & Servo equipt car.

Is crystal Universal? or are they dependednt onthe right RX & TX to work?
stonely0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 08:34 PM   #2
Tech Master
Tim Johnson's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,298

IF it is 27mhz AM then yes. If it is not, then you need to get the crystal designed for that system.
Support your Local Hobby Shop, because you can't race on Ebay!
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 09:44 PM   #3
Tech Master
theRED5's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: near Athens,GA
Posts: 1,022

FYI: I used an Airtronics M8 Tx with a JR synthesized Rx, the one you can dial any channel into. I used the M8's Tx crystal.
I [I]AM [/I]the Driver !

Murnan Modified Motors

Mugen MRx4

Rocket Science Fuels

Auto Racing, Mountain climbing, and Bull fighting are the only true sports, all the rest are just games.
theRED5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:44 PM   #4
Tech Regular
Nitroaddicts's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

It should work, yes.
Get Free T-Shirts with Nitro Points!
Need Track TShirts?
Nitroaddicts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 01:51 AM   #5
Tech Adept
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wilnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 153
Send a message via MSN to Qlone

Most of the time even FM crystals are interchangeable, but there is no guarantee this will work.
The 'generic' receivers (protech for instance) usually take most crystals. I've had less luck with mixing and matching transmitter crystals though....
Qlone is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from 20% to 30% fuel? new to rc cars Nitro Off-Road 26 04-20-2008 10:03 PM
How do starter boxes work? Do they work with Shaft Start engines? Ofna_Driver_777 Electric Off-Road 7 02-25-2007 06:51 PM
crystal or crystal set wanted cheap fordman86 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 10-18-2006 07:09 PM
switching from EP to GP uniquexme Nitro On-Road 4 05-24-2006 04:23 AM
Help with switching to 30%. rcpilot Nitro On-Road 17 06-21-2002 06:56 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:30 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0