Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help adjusting after mods

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2002, 02:54 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Help adjusting after mods

What's going on. I'm not new to R/C, just to nitro. I used to race electric off road back in Chicago about 6 years ago, now I'm back, on the road with an HPI Nitro 3. After break in I decided to start playing around. I've got the CVEC pipe, HPI header, and the Dynamite "Turbo" (whatever that means) air filter. First off, it doesn't sound any louder than the stock pipe, which is no problem, but shouldn't more flow make some increase in sound (just like real cars)? Also it seems to be a little less responsive in the low range. I am a real rookie with carbs, I prefer fuel injection. I have the CVEC set on the factory setting (I think the 3rd hole), and I haven't touched the carb yet. It does seem faster and quicker on the top end. I haven't adjusted the carb yet because after installing all this, it still fired and ran smooth at idle. Any suggestions on how I should set this up and adjust it? Sorry for being long winded.
DJ
Old 12-18-2002, 03:14 PM
Tech Apprentice

just start adjusting the carb to the point where it makes the best power, feel, and sound while still running cool enough. i am pretty new also and just use the spit test to check if my temperature is ok. just put a drop of spit or water on top of the head. if it boils and spatters you are to hot. if it doesnt boil, you should be fine. i adjust my carb every time i start the car up.
Old 12-19-2002, 12:17 PM
Tech Chat Moderator

Default CVEC

Originally posted by wahturi
just start adjusting the carb to the point where it makes the best power, feel, and sound while still running cool enough.