Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tuning help

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2016, 08:48 PM
Tech Rookie

Talking Tuning help

Hi guys, I recently got a new 1/8 scale truggy, it is my first nitro but not my first rc. i live around 7800 feet and i'm having quite some trouble tuning any pointers on tuning or fuel or basically anything would be very helpful. as I am new to nitro i will need to learn most of it, thanks!!
Old 05-16-2016, 01:12 AM
Tech Regular

Welcome to the world of nitro!

High elevation can cause some issues. Iirc, you have to tune leaner than normal to compensate for the thinner air. I start by getting the idle gap set to around .5-1mm (A small paper clip makes for a nice spacer), tune the low end using the pinch test, then do the high end. Start with factory settings for the engine and use small 1/16 turns. Clockwise for leaner, counter for richer. Factory settings are generally very rich as it is set for break in, so you usually end up leaning it out. The pinch test will get you into the ball park, then you can fine tune it from there.

Basically you get it warmed up, pinch the fuel line right by the carb, then listen to it as it dies out. It should rev slightly higher, then die after a few seconds. If it revs way up and dies, it's too rich. If it dies right away, it's too lean. From there, you can fine tune it by letting it idle for about 10 seconds and then gun it. It should take off quickly with little to no hesitation. Also, monitoring your temps with an IR gun is very helpful. A well tuned low end will cause the engine to begin cooling down slightly at idle.