Wiki Posts
Search

new to Nitro

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2016, 08:44 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default new to Nitro

I've been racing electric since 1991. my only nitro experience was playing around with a Tmaxx 12 years ago. So i know how to lean it out and make it richer etc...

That's about it. I run 1/8th scale ebuggy indoor in the winter and would like to try nitro outside this spring summer. I have an RC8e right now.

So...i have no clue what kind of engine/exhaust to buy to be competitive. Im am not crazy good that's for sure. So i don't need anything special.

Was thinking about Truggy but some people say it is dying out around here. I like to run two classes. So maybe ebuggy and nitro buggy? Or ebuggy and nitro truggy?

Sorry for being such a nitro newbie

What engines/exhaust would you recommend?
Old 01-31-2016, 08:47 AM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)

It's all about your track and throttle control. A lot of people are going to recommend super high HP engines with pipes and headers that produce a crazy amount of power.

However, what track are you running, what is the grip like, how big is it? What's your budget? What car are you looking to purchase?
Old 01-31-2016, 09:00 AM
Tech Champion

E-buggy and nitro buggy would make a lot of sense for sharing parts. As to whether or not to go truggy, just go to your track(s) and see..

For starters get an Elite 5 from novarossidirect - it's cheap and solid for getting started. With something like a 9901 pipe.

You could also check out Werks and Alpha engines. There are lots of good engines. You don't have to and shouldn't spend a lot on an engine to get started.
Old 01-31-2016, 09:34 AM
Tech Regular

There are a lot of good engines out on the market.
See if you can try some different cars with different engines and pipes on your local track so you can get a feel for what you like. Then you know what you want.