R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2014, 11:28 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Brake Question

What can i do to get more brake power out of my buggy? As of right now, my brakes are pretty weak. If i were to brake from a full throttle stand point, my buggy wouldn't stop until a few seconds later. It would slow down, but it would take a while to stop and i fear that it would be disastrous if i were on a straight away on a track. Is this a sign of worn brakes, or just a really slow responding throttle servo? Thanks.
__________________
RC isn't a hobby, it's an addiction.

Losi 8ight-T 2.0 | HiTec |Picco 5TR| Spektrum |
Mugen MBX6R | Novarossi P5 | Savox |
RC8.2
I Wheelie A LOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 02:28 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Jerm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VB, VA
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I Wheelie A LOT View Post
What can i do to get more brake power out of my buggy? As of right now, my brakes are pretty weak. If i were to brake from a full throttle stand point, my buggy wouldn't stop until a few seconds later. It would slow down, but it would take a while to stop and i fear that it would be disastrous if i were on a straight away on a track. Is this a sign of worn brakes, or just a really slow responding throttle servo? Thanks.
Could be as simple as adjusting the brakes or it could be a combination of things.

Go over all your brake components. Use the manual to set it up correctly.
Make sure the cams, pads and rotors are not too worn down and the linkages are set at the proper length. Also, you may need to replace the rubber tubing on the links. As the get old, they start to soften up.

Then check the EPA of your servo and make sure it pulls far enough.

If you have a bunch of worn parts, check out E-bay. Some of the RC Chop Shops sell the entire center diff and brake assy for like $10 or so. A hell of a lot cheaper than buying everything by them selves.
__________________
Serpent Cobra-TE RCR Nova P5 / Serpent SRX8 Werks B7ProKE
AE SC10.2/////AE B5M CE/////AKA/////Serpent America/////Desoto Racing
Spektrum Radios and Servos, Tekin Speedo's and Motors, SMC Batteries
RC Pro Racing VA, Awesome Hobbies(RIP), Debbies RC World VA, Thunder Alley Raceway NC
Jerm13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 04:42 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
ozziii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via Skype™ to ozziii
Default

What servo are you using for throttle/brake duties, does it have enough power/torque to do the job, it may be to weak. Also check battery & wires are working/connected as they should be, if there is a problem then the servo may not be getting the correct amount of power.
If everything is all ok with servo, battery & wiring then like mentioned above, you might only need to re-adjust the linkage system & radio settings so more brake is applied.
__________________
Stuff I like & use, paid for by me.
JQ Racing 'THE Car' W.E, NAA-GODZILLA engine,
Sanwa MT4, NEO+ fuel, MAX & Ultimate Racing Oils,
SWEEP tyres, Savox servo's, Raceform body.
ozziii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 06:29 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belleville wi
Posts: 176
Default

you probably glazed the rotors and pads. take the brake disks out and rough them up with sand paper. do the same with the pads that squeeze the brake disk. i do this reguraly.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies www.vpprousa.com
RW-MODS/ Argus engines www.rw-mods.com
Losi 8T 2.0 - Losi 5t
Team Associated sc10 4x4 - Team Associated B5M
MitchelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 01:45 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,651
Default

+1 Ozziii

What servo are you running.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 03:20 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
+1 Ozziii

What servo are you running.
I'm running some AE RTR throttle servo. I paired it with a savox, and i think the savox is hogging all the power from my battery
I Wheelie A LOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 04:47 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Jerm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VB, VA
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I Wheelie A LOT View Post
I'm running some AE RTR throttle servo. I paired it with a savox, and i think the savox is hogging all the power from my battery
Yes, that's your problem. The RTR Servo is rated at about 100 in/lbs. Not a lot of holding power. I would replace that with a decent one with about 200 oz/in and you will get more brake power.

Are you running a rechargeable RX pack? Or the 4 AA dry cell pack? If not a rechargable, I would replace that at the same time.
__________________
Serpent Cobra-TE RCR Nova P5 / Serpent SRX8 Werks B7ProKE
AE SC10.2/////AE B5M CE/////AKA/////Serpent America/////Desoto Racing
Spektrum Radios and Servos, Tekin Speedo's and Motors, SMC Batteries
RC Pro Racing VA, Awesome Hobbies(RIP), Debbies RC World VA, Thunder Alley Raceway NC
Jerm13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 05:10 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
ozziii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via Skype™ to ozziii
Default

Yeah most RTR servo's are a little low on torque but still should work ok if adjusted properly, even if only around 10kg. Your servo may also have a problem & could be causing it to work incorrectly. I use a Savox 1258tg for throttle/brake & it does a good job, easily enough power, think its about 12kg & it doesn't cost a great deal either.
If using standard servo's then you could try using a 2s 6.6v LiFe battery for a little more voltage & battery life over Nimh, rechargeable's or alkaline's.
__________________
Stuff I like & use, paid for by me.
JQ Racing 'THE Car' W.E, NAA-GODZILLA engine,
Sanwa MT4, NEO+ fuel, MAX & Ultimate Racing Oils,
SWEEP tyres, Savox servo's, Raceform body.
ozziii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 05:34 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

A nice detailed picture of the throttle linkage may help us, help you.
__________________
RadioPost
Mugen MBX7r | CRE Picco 5TR/2120 | Hitec 7950/7940
Tekno NB48 | B6 Pro/2058 | Hitec 7950/7940
Kyosho RB6 | Viper VTX10r/Reedy Mach 3 9.5 | Hitec 7940
Schumacher SX3 Pro | Viper VTX10r/Reedy Mach 2 8.5 | Hitec 7940
madweazl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 01:55 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I Wheelie A LOT View Post
What can i do to get more brake power out of my buggy? As of right now, my brakes are pretty weak. If i were to brake from a full throttle stand point, my buggy wouldn't stop until a few seconds later. It would slow down, but it would take a while to stop and i fear that it would be disastrous if i were on a straight away on a track. Is this a sign of worn brakes, or just a really slow responding throttle servo? Thanks.
Is there much freeplay between the calipers and the rotors ? Do the calipers wobble alot ? possibly remove some freeplay there . re-adjust your setup and deglaze your rotors and calipers .
bob.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 09:10 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob.less View Post
Is there much freeplay between the calipers and the rotors ? Do the calipers wobble alot ? possibly remove some freeplay there . re-adjust your setup and deglaze your rotors and calipers .
Actually from a standing point, there is some play between the calipers and the rotors itself. However, my truggy has the same symptom yet it still brakes fine. I'm running a high end Hitec throttle servo on it though so..

Here's a picture of my linkage.


I'm using a Nimh rechargeable as my receiver battery, but i'm greatly thinking of switching over to lipo since i put in a savox
__________________
RC isn't a hobby, it's an addiction.

Losi 8ight-T 2.0 | HiTec |Picco 5TR| Spektrum |
Mugen MBX6R | Novarossi P5 | Savox |
RC8.2
I Wheelie A LOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 11:47 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
ozziii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via Skype™ to ozziii
Default

The brake lever linkage loops should be at 90 degrees to the linkage but I don't think that would be the problem, yours look to be leaning over at around a 45 degree angle.
Also, looks like the servo is not centered properly, adjust linkages & servo arm & center servo so the arm is sitting straight inline from front to rear then re-adjust throttle & brake linkages, then trim etc, you might not be getting the correct amount of travel in the servo when you brake.
It might not be the cause but worth getting them set up correctly.
__________________
Stuff I like & use, paid for by me.
JQ Racing 'THE Car' W.E, NAA-GODZILLA engine,
Sanwa MT4, NEO+ fuel, MAX & Ultimate Racing Oils,
SWEEP tyres, Savox servo's, Raceform body.
ozziii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 01:38 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 946
Default

transmiter EPA ?
bob.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 02:45 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziii View Post
The brake lever linkage loops should be at 90 degrees to the linkage but I don't think that would be the problem, yours look to be leaning over at around a 45 degree angle.
Also, looks like the servo is not centered properly, adjust linkages & servo arm & center servo so the arm is sitting straight inline from front to rear then re-adjust throttle & brake linkages, then trim etc, you might not be getting the correct amount of travel in the servo when you brake.
It might not be the cause but worth getting them set up correctly.
+ 1 !
bob.less is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:08 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net