Community
Wiki Posts
Search

building a losi truggy..

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2014, 05:22 PM
Tech Apprentice

Questions?? building a losi truggy..

gonna put together an 8ight T 2.0 and i'm brand new to off-road, so i'll take all the help/tips i can get. im building it to race with some friends on a track with some huge dirt jumps..

still shopping for servos. what is the most trusted/wallet-friendly model out there? please suggest a rx battery size also. i would prefer to stay nimh.

also considering a losi 427 engine, anyone have any input on the 427? or losi engines in general?
Old 07-08-2014, 05:53 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by Zakariah
gonna put together an 8ight T 2.0 and i'm brand new to off-road, so i'll take all the help/tips i can get. im building it to race with some friends on a track with some huge dirt jumps..

still shopping for servos. what is the most trusted/wallet-friendly model out there? please suggest a rx battery size also. i would prefer to stay nimh.

also considering a losi 427 engine, anyone have any input on the 427? or losi engines in general?
Losi engine, the spin start version won't fit without motor mount mods. Although cheap, more of a RTR basher engine. Too much displacement (hurts fuel consumption). Most run .21 displacement, although some have success with .23 size. .28 size displacement is really too much, although a few run them.

Others will chime in on other tips.
Old 07-08-2014, 06:05 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)

Look at the Werks B5 Pro, Around $300 with a pipe.
Old 07-08-2014, 06:28 PM
Tech Adept

Losi 427 is a great engine for bashing, gets about 6-7 min on a tank and had lots of power.... I run savox servos and have had great luck with them. As for building tips, if the Manuel tells you to lock tight something LOCK TIGHT IT!!! No mater how small the screw seems
Old 07-08-2014, 07:16 PM
Tech Apprentice

thanks guys