Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
First day with first nitro didn't go as planned. >

First day with first nitro didn't go as planned.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

First day with first nitro didn't go as planned.

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 05:54 PM
Tech Rookie

Default First day with first nitro didn't go as planned.

Hey guys just got my first car the other day (ofna lx2) and today was my first day of taken it out.

I'm new to the cars and nitro so i was ready for some mistakes. First time the car cranked I didn't realize the throttle was wide open. The control was in neutral but the servo had it wide open. So for the first 2 seconds of its life it was reving wide open. Not a great start but luckly I was ready for anything so had a rag in my hand and the engine was off in under 2 seconds (even though it seemed like 18 minutes). So I trimmed that down so when the control was in neutral the servo would hold the throttle at neutral.

(following OFNA instructions for force .28)

Cranked it again and the idle was great. I let it run through a tank of gas and then let it cool off.

Next tank I cranked it. Let it warm up and put it on the ground and tried to give it a little gas but it died. Tried this 3 times with the same result.

So here I am now with some questions.

Are these things suppose to have brakes? If it does then its almost like my brakes are on when i'm trying to go causing the engine to die.

I push the trigger forward and still push the car but it will not go when i try and drive it. What the heck is going on?

Also my control has a fail safe and the book says press this button and you should see a red light. I see it and then thats it. Is it set?

Also how bad was my 2 second full throttle run?
Old 05-15-2013, 06:07 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)