R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default Starter Box Belt keeps spinning off

Hi
I tried looking for a thread of someone who may of had the same problem but could not find anything.
So as the title says my starter box belt keeps coming off the wheel, what's the best solution for this?, is it cause the belt is loose?
I must add at this stage that the belt is a pretty tight fit.

Anyway suggestion are most welcomed

Thanks
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:51 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

It might be easier to help if you listed the brand and model of the box. Different brands may use different methods to tension the belt. Pictures are always helpful.
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:57 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
It might be easier to help if you listed the brand and model of the box. Different brands may use different methods to tension the belt. Pictures are always helpful.
OK I didn't think it would make a difference but anyway it's a kyosho multi starter box pro 2.0.

No pics at the moment will put some up later
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:59 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nazUK View Post
OK I didn't think it would make a difference but anyway it's a kyosho multi starter box pro 2.0.

No pics at the moment will put some up later
Theres a pic of it here

Starter Box concern with LIPO Battery - Need advice?
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:28 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

Did you change the position of the motors in the box? I would suppose that the different possible motor postions would require the belt tension to be set. Seems pretty straight forward. Page/box #3 shows the belt tension adjustment.
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:19 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
Did you change the position of the motors in the box? I would suppose that the different possible motor postions would require the belt tension to be set. Seems pretty straight forward. Page/box #3 shows the belt tension adjustment.
OK but are you saying it should be looser which will stop the belt coming off?!
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:08 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nazUK View Post
OK but are you saying it should be looser which will stop the belt coming off?!
No.
You did say that the belt was quite tight, so I don't know what to tell you.
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:24 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
afr0sch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,259
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to afr0sch
Default

Um....read the manual?
__________________
"Life is tough, but its even tougher when you are stupid." - John Wayne
afr0sch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:18 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
No.
You did say that the belt was quite tight, so I don't know what to tell you.
Well then your answer to my question doesn't seem to be an answer at all, adjusting the motors is one thing but if it doesn't correct the problem where the belt is slipping of then I'm back to square one.
But I will try it and see what happens, but what I will say is the belt has become slightly looser by adjusting the motor.

I have one question that has come to mind...
How loose should the belt be/how much slack should it have?

Last edited by nazUK; 11-10-2012 at 02:25 PM.
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:12 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

If you look at the two drive motors and there screws if the belt is super tight then I would slack some tension off buy pushing the motor. Also make sure the Pully idler spins freely if it's not you will have issues. Play with the belt tension if you have a friend with a box feel his and compair
__________________
TEAM: SERPENT AMERICA DRIVER -ADVANTAGE RACING PRODUCTS-COMPETITION HEAT INC - HOBBYPRO, VPPRO - BCE-
Serpent: 811N, 811T, 811E
bigjayjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:51 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

Are you by any chance breaking in a new engine with this box?
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:28 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjayjay1 View Post
If you look at the two drive motors and there screws if the belt is super tight then I would slack some tension off buy pushing the motor. Also make sure the Pully idler spins freely if it's not you will have issues. Play with the belt tension if you have a friend with a box feel his and compair
Thanks bigjayjay that's really helpful advice.

I have a feeling now it may be too tight hence why it is spinning off.
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:30 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
Are you by any chance breaking in a new engine with this box?
No nitro my engine kicks in fine but I think bigjayjay may of, as they say,
"hit the nail on the head"
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:44 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

One thing to check. Do you have the idler pulley (adjusts tension) in the correct position for the motor position chosen? Page/box #3

http://www.kyosho.com/jpn/support/in...df/36209_m.pdf
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #15
Tech Apprentice
 
nazUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroexpress View Post
One thing to check. Do you have the idler pulley (adjusts tension) in the correct position for the motor position chosen? Page/box #3

http://www.kyosho.com/jpn/support/in...df/36209_m.pdf
I did but the belt became too too tight so I loosened it, just didn't feel right the belt being that tight, but now I have adjusted motor I may try it again.

Last edited by nazUK; 11-10-2012 at 03:53 PM.
nazUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net