R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default One transponder for each race car or just one and share?

Hi Guys,

Do you guys buy one transponder for one race car each or just buy one and share it with 2 or 3 different class race car?
__________________
Accepting sponsors who need to test their products durability :)
drstrangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:44 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,566
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'v got one for each, it's too much hassle running one between multipull cars when doing multipull classes at an event.
__________________
I use; MG66.21, .21 Godzilla R7, GO .21 gen5.5 5port, GO/MM3 .21 gen5 5port, +Go2072, 25% NEO+, KO Propo Helios, Mugen MBX6T + MBX6, AKA Tires, Pyrographix, BCE X5mm.
Sponsors; Factory MG66/GODZILLA (MassiveMark NAA) +MMI (mugen/NEO+)+PerformanceRC +TQgrafix +AKA. I also support; LRRCC track sponsors when I can.
Flanno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

All my kits have but you can not hassle if done right. Use micro dean plugs wire your kits then use industrial grade Velcro a perfect system for all your kits.
__________________
TEAM: SERPENT AMERICA DRIVER -ADVANTAGE RACING PRODUCTS-COMPETITION HEAT INC - HOBBYPRO, VPPRO - BCE-
Serpent: 811N, 811T, 811E
bigjayjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:35 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
305M3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjayjay1 View Post
All my kits have but you can not hassle if done right. Use micro dean plugs wire your kits then use industrial grade Velcro a perfect system for all your kits.
I've seen this done a lot. Use the "white" velcro w/o the fuzzy stuff.

As it is, I have one for each kit.
305M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Titian2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Socal Ca 909
Posts: 1,884
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

What I did was buy a few mylaps holders for $5 each and mounted one in each car. Then buy a female to male Extension wire to run out of the Rx and Rx box. now it only takes a min to unplug the mylaps and plug into another car. Saves a $100 or two. Good luck.
Titian2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:23 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titian2010 View Post
What I did was buy a few mylaps holders for $5 each and mounted one in each car. Then buy a female to male Extension wire to run out of the Rx and Rx box. now it only takes a min to unplug the mylaps and plug into another car. Saves a $100 or two. Good luck.
+1
rossham46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:43 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

One PT for multiple cars okay until you forget to switch it from one car to the next between rounds then they start racing before you get it switched out.. Didn't happen to me but a guy I was pitting for.. Shame too because he qualified 2nd, and started about 3/4 of a lap behind the field..


1 PT for each Car is the only way ill do it from now on.
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:56 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Rampokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

When I started out I had only 1 transponder and swapped it between cars. It does work if you have enough time between races. After a few races where I'd start and then remember that I didn't put my transponder in, I decided to get a transponder for each car. It took a while to do as I didn't have enough money for all of them in 1 hit, but it sure was worth it!
__________________
XRAY XB8 - Keep Off 21-4
XRAY XT9 - Elite 8 Off
XRAY XB4 - Tekin RS Pro / Fantom 6.5
Rampokker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:12 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys. Great, I don't want to look stupid going to a race with having transponder on every cars, so it's nice to know that it's normal. Best that I have transponder on all race cars, I'm the kind who even forget to switch off the switch after practice sessions. Thats why I always bring 4 spares batteries on top of the battery that is already in the car
__________________
Accepting sponsors who need to test their products durability :)

Last edited by drstrangelove; 04-28-2012 at 09:25 AM.
drstrangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:12 AM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Every car has its own transponder. That way no mater which car I take to the track I am always ready to race. Also the less tedious stuff I have to do on race day the better. Sometimes I will run 4 classes and swapping that little transponder is just 1 more thing.

I have seen it done though.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 09:27 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks bro, went out to get the transponders for my cars. All good to go, one for each. Man it does make my cars look more race ready... having the transponder there

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Every car has its own transponder. That way no mater which car I take to the track I am always ready to race. Also the less tedious stuff I have to do on race day the better. Sometimes I will run 4 classes and swapping that little transponder is just 1 more thing.

I have seen it done though.
__________________
Accepting sponsors who need to test their products durability :)
drstrangelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
share your driving tips Version 3.0 cmain Electric Off-Road 15 09-16-2010 09:17 PM
Share Your Driving Tips Version 3.0 Chris__RC Electric Off-Road 6 12-04-2008 06:49 AM
RC Sellout! Blowout! Getting Out! Whatever you want to call it! It all must GO!! Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 08-10-2008 04:14 PM
share your driving tips Version 2.0 cmain Electric Off-Road 33 08-01-2008 12:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net