Wiki Posts
Search

Bearing Brands

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2012, 10:38 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Bearing Brands

I've been using Avid bearing for about 4-5 years now, and up until recently they have been awesome, but the recent changes in their bearings seem to not fit the crankshaft, (clutch bearings), and the wheel bearings seem to lock up pretty easily. It could be my maintenance schedule is sliding a bit. anyone had similar issues?

On that note, any other brands that are good for 1 bearing.

the ones I've found...

Boca, any experience with their 99cent bearings? they seem really smooth, I innstalled them but havent raced them yet..

Advantage, they seem like good ones, never bought them...

Answer, also look good never tried...

e bay chinese bearings? prolly answers that, but who knows....

and when and if you regrease them what grease do you use? I usually just replace them, but I noticed the rear hub bearings could use a cleaning and regreasing, but then replace all the next time....
Old 04-28-2012, 08:53 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Hi,

So I can't give you an unbiased answer as I own Advantage Racing Products, but I can tell you that I've been selling the same bearings from the same manufacturer since 2005 and can assure you that you'll be happy with the bearings. Any questions or concerns, and I'll replace or refund immediately.

For standard steel bearings, they come packed with grease. I normally replace them on a regular interval, as they are less than $1 each (normally 2x/season). If one or two need servicing, I usually clean, blow out, and lube with a light bearing oil (recomend TrackStar TS1+). Repacking with grease is a pain, and not worth the time/cost vs. replacement bearings, IMO. Once you use light oil on steel bearings, they will require service more often, as the oil does not stay in/on as long as grease.