R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2012, 10:27 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default D8s throttle/steering horns

I have 2 hitecs it's impossible to put aluminum servo horns on the d8s

it rubs on it with the screws & arm setup

is there a kit out there that would fit a hitec servo or should i stick with plastic horns?

thanks!!
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 05:59 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
willbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

For throttle the plastic should work fine just make sure you have the right one 24.

For steering, purchase the HB alum one, will last longer.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...4-Hitec-Spline
__________________
HB D812, HB D8T, HB D812E, HB D413, HPI Blitz SC, Losi 22 & 22T
Special Thanks to:
HotBodies/HPI Racing, Upgrade RC, OS Speed, Sidewinder Fuels, Hitec
Proudly using: Spektrum DX4R, Viper-RC Electronics, Reedy Batteries, & Pro-Line
Cancer Sucks
willbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:33 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Sweet thanks!!! :-)
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:39 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

throttle they dont make it in aluminum?
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:06 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what is weird is that with throttle not adjusted with endpoint the linkages hits the fuel tank hehehe:P
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:16 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,517
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nv529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusafmw View Post
what is weird is that with throttle not adjusted with endpoint the linkages hits the fuel tank hehehe:P
your linkage going to brake cams are too long if they hit the fuel tank..
__________________
Nick Vasquez
Tekin | Reilly Paint | Dirt Burner Racing | RC Clubhouse| Washtenaw RC Raceway | TARCAR | The Track
nv529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:04 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

sorry im frech , what are ''cams? ''




Also I did a idle break in tank the motor was running way too hot 250F

I tried to richen it , i never was able to make it spit some fuel.... it was always 240 230 , after a while sitting on idle.....


very weird
I dropped my idle too but that didn't help
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 08:43 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

You could also put the steering linkage on top of the servo horn like this..
Attached Thumbnails
D8s throttle/steering horns-photo.jpg  
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:14 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks will be looking for that


for the temperature issue.... that i really dunno it's the first time i got a car that runs so high & low

yesterday it was like 0 degree outside.... the motor was running like 250F after sitting 20 mins on idle.......

That is non sens so i richen it out.... same result...

very weird

lowered the idle to see what it does

nothing to help the heat....


maybe it's the low speed that someone at factory messed up on setting it ?
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 07:36 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
nitroexpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusafmw View Post
Thanks will be looking for that


for the temperature issue.... that i really dunno it's the first time i got a car that runs so high & low

yesterday it was like 0 degree outside.... the motor was running like 250F after sitting 20 mins on idle.......

That is non sens so i richen it out.... same result...

very weird

lowered the idle to see what it does

nothing to help the heat....


maybe it's the low speed that someone at factory messed up on setting it ?
Why were you idling for 20 min? Don't depend on factory settings, richen that LSN and check your idle gap.
nitroexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:31 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

my idle gap is so tiny and it doesn't run on me it's steady but VERY rich so it sounds like crap


Why was i idling , for the first tank i always do that

but with this car i really shouldn't seems like it needs airflow into the head ..



I richen the HSP but it was so rich the performance were crap but i still got some high temp....

maybe it's because the engine it's brand new it will loosen up
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 11:05 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusafmw View Post
my idle gap is so tiny and it doesn't run on me it's steady but VERY rich so it sounds like crap


Why was i idling , for the first tank i always do that

but with this car i really shouldn't seems like it needs airflow into the head ..



I richen the HSP but it was so rich the performance were crap but i still got some high temp....

maybe it's because the engine it's brand new it will loosen up
You say your idling the first tank, yet you talk about poor performance. If your breaking this engine in then the temps are due to the metal to metal contact of the piston and sleeve touching.

Yet you also state you have poor performance. I guess the question is what are you doing?
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 03:09 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
hayabusafmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: montreal quebec canada
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

sorry for all the confusion i miss lead you


I ran it today factory settings i never reached above 183 190 200 F

So this is GREAT!
idle was great , and everything seemed to be normal! finally

i think my problem was like you said the engine being new + not enough airflow while on idle = overheating almost instantly!


Now it's pretty sweet , i did my second tank today im pretty suprised how much time a tank last!!!
about 30 mins (breaking in half to 1/4 throttle ) still pretty impressive
__________________
www.rcprofile.com
hayabusafmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net