R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Good starter nitro buggy for new racer? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/576776-good-starter-nitro-buggy-new-racer.html)

WindsorRacing 12-11-2011 02:56 PM

Good starter nitro buggy for new racer?

I tried posting this last night, and it did not stick. I checked out some similar threads on here and had some different questions than what was posted.

I am brand new to the sport, and am eager to get into racing due to a recent move and some great property nearby for racing. I have more than a basic knowledge of mechanical and electrical engineering and know with a little research and work, I can figure out the ins and outs of this great hobby.

I have completed a lot of research on Nitro Buggys and Truggys and wanted to go to the general public for a final opinion. I am looking for an RTR or kit that has minimal assembly to start, so I can learn as I go and work on replacement parts and upgrades as needed. I am not afraid of some assembly, I just want to make sure I get my toolbox in order and get off and running smoothly. I am looking to spend about $450 new or used to start.

I have two racing enthusiast contacts who recommended the OFNA Ultra LX One 1/8th Buggy as a starter. Another friend recommended a used HotBodies D8 and one more discussed HPi.

In about a year, money will be no object for me, so my budget restraints are confined to the present. Any good advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Zao18 12-11-2011 04:42 PM

Here's 2 to check out:

1. Losi 810 buggy http://www.losi.com/Products/Default...rodID=LOSB0021. I don't know why it says it's 1/10 scale on the page. It's actually a baby 1/8 scale buggy. Just a touch smaller than its bigger brother, the 8ight, but definitely bigger than a 1/10 buggy.

2. HPI D8S http://www.hpiracing.com/kitinfo/106116/. It's based off Hotbodies buggy race kit.